Curried Apple and Celery Soup

Wow, it’s been a LONG time since I’ve shared a recipe here.  I really got into a cooking rut over the winter, and frankly didn’t try many new things.  Then, in the spring, my husband announced that he was going on the Paleo Diet.  The challenge involved did perk up my interest in cooking for a while – any shortcuts in the kitchen went against his requirements.  For example, I made my own chicken stock for the first time in a long time.  Unfortunately, Paleo goes against my own natural appetite.  No grain?  No legumes?  So much meat.  I suppose it was my own lack of enthusiasm that kept me from sharing recipes.

After the initial 30 days, hubby was ready to relax the rules a bit.  I may have relaxed a bit too much.  I could actually see how this diet benefited hubby’s health.  I need to find a good balance.  Grains and legumes will be part of my life, but they can usually come in the form of a side dish, so hubby can avoid or partake as he chooses.  This soup is a compromise.  The meat and veggies fall in line with the rules, but I did use store-bought chicken broth, and I did include salt.

Curried Apple and Celery Soup

Ingredients

2 T butter
1 apple, diced
1 small bunch celery, chopped
3 cloves garlic
2 chicken breasts, cooked and chopped
1 T cumin
1 T red curry powder
2-3 cups chicken broth
Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

1. Melt butter in large skillet over medium heat.
2. Add apple, celery, garlic, cumin and curry to skillet.  Cook until tender.  Add a bit of broth if needed to prevent sticking.
3. Remove to blender.  Add broth and puree, using enough broth to achieve desired consistency.
4.  Return to skillet.  Add the chicken, salt and pepper and simmer for a few minutes before serving.

This is one of those dishes that doesn’t look the way it tastes.  Luckily, I wasn’t entering a cooking competition with it (not that I’ve ever entered a cooking competition). In a perfect world, all food would look pretty as well as taste good. In my reality, that’s not always the case. Unpretty as it was, it tasted SO good. It was quite spicy.  My son liked it, but my daughter thought it TOO spicy.  The combination of flavors work well together, but you may want to experiment with how much cumin and curry to add.  This made three servings.  If I make this again, I will likely increase the amount of celery, apple and chicken to yield more, while lessening the spiciness for my daughter’s sake.  My cooking often is experimental.  That’s half the fun, I think.  🙂

The unpretty but delicious result.

Leave a Reply

