Doing the least actions for love

I read The Happiness Project, by Gretchen Rubin for this month’s book club.  In her own reading, the author became fascinated with a Catholic nun who was sainted, Saint Therese of Lisieux.  She included a Saint Therese quote that resonated with me.

“Love proves itself by deeds, so how am I to show my love?  Great deeds are forbidden me.  The only way I can prove my love is by… every little sacrifice, every glance and word, and the doing of the least actions for love.”

No doubt it reminded me of my own desire to pay attention to the little things.

I also agree that love is shown by action, and I think love is a choice as much as it is a feeling. 

It’s just one of those tidbits that I wanted to save. 

🙂

Leave a Reply

