The Strength of My Heart

It’s the anniversary of my heart surgery! It’s sort of a big one. I lived nineteen years with a bad heart, and now I’ve lived nineteen years with a good heart. From here on out, the good prevails. 🙂

As a side note, there have been so many times that I’ve been amazed at how appropriate the verse on my perpetual calendar was for that day. (It’s also amazing how many years it sometimes takes me to notice, since I go through this calendar over and over every year.) I just noticed the August 31st verse in the context of my surgery, though I’ve read it every August 31st for years.

Whom have I in heaven but thee? And there is none upon earth that I desire besides thee. My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion forever.
~Psalm 73:25, 26

I like it.

I am so grateful that my heart is now healthy, but even when it wasn’t, God was still the strength of my heart. For all the other frailties that I may experience in my life, I can remember that I don’t rely on the strength of my body alone. God has my back. Always.

One thought on “The Strength of My Heart

  1. Pingback: Happy Happenstance | Be not simply good...

Leave a Reply

