Night to Unite

We enjoyed a potluck with neighbors last night in celebration of Night to Unite.  Do you celebrate this where you live?

With our busy lives which often keep us out of our homes, it’s all too easy not to get to know our neighbors.  Back when I was working full time, I remember actually wondering if there was anything in my neighborhood for National Night Out (the previous name for what is now called Night to Unite).  I was gone so much of the time for my job, that I literally did not know if my neighbors gathered to celebrate.  Back then, I also wasn’t present in my own neighborhood for Halloween trick-or-treaters.  Because I have made the decision to stay home with my children, I have had more opportunities to get to know some of my neighbors.  Even now, most of our interactions are with other families that have children.  Still, it’s a step in the right direction.

Night to Unite brings the whole neighborhood together, everyone who can make it.  Through this event, we have met several more families.  I must say, it’s a good thing.

Night to Unite is considered a crime prevention initiative.  When people know their neighbors, they are more likely to notice if something is amiss.  They are more likely to look out for each other.  They are more likely to call upon each other when a need arises and to offer to pitch in when a need is observed.  In other words, what could simply be a row of houses with no connection becomes a true community.

If you haven’t participated in Night to Unite, I do recommend it.  If you already know your neighbors, wonderful!  If you don’t, I think it will be well worth your while to make the effort to meet them.  That sense of community can enrich your life, as well as make for a safer neighborhood.

 

Leave a Reply

