Music Moves Me

Have you ever heard just the right song at just the right moment, in such a way that it spoke to your heart?

At the risk of sounding corny, I will admit that I have.  And sometimes I wonder if music touches everyone on such a deep level as it seems to for me.  There are times when a song lyric reaches me in a way that spoken or written word never could.

This is the biggest reason I sing in the choir at church.  I can think back on so many times when music has impacted me, particularly in matters of faith, and if I can help bring that experience to others, I want to do so.  This may not always be part of my life, but for now, it is my privilege.

I joke about having free license to enjoy Christmas music before it is socially acceptable.  After all, we have to practice, don’t we?

Not terribly significant, but still a moment I’ll never forget was hearing “New York State of Mind” come on the radio as we crossed the George Washington Bridge entering New York City for the first (and so far only) time in my life.

Much more meaningful was the morning I was driving to the clinic for a Level II ultrasound, after my routine ultrasound had detected an abnormality on my baby’s heart.  I felt so scared and helpless, not knowing if my baby would be okay, not knowing what kind of news this ultrasound would bring.  What health challenges would my baby face?  Would I know how to care for him?  Could we afford his medical care?  Would I have enough to give to an active toddler and sick baby?

The song playing on my car radio as I arrived was “Sometimes He Calms the Storm” by Scott Krippayne.

Sometimes He calms the storm
With a whispered “Peace, be still.”
He can settle any sea
But it doesn’t mean He will.
Sometimes He holds us close
And lets the wind and waves go wild
Sometimes He calms the storm
And other times He calms His child.

I cannot explain the sense of calm that came over me as I listened to those words.  I was just as uncertain as I had been moments before, but I had this overwhelming belief that we would be okay no matter what health challenges we might face with our baby.  Bottom line, we will love and care for him no matter what. We will be okay. I don’t know how it will all work out, but I know it will work out.

At this time of year, the church choir keeps very busy, singing for Ash Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter, and various other services in between. The music we prepare is so meaningful to me. Perhaps that is what brought this topic to mind now.

If you have a certain song that is especially meaningful to you, or spoke to just when you needed it, I’d love to hear about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

