Beyond Compare

Usually when we say something is beyond compare, we mean that it is superior, so much better that it is impossible to compare it to something else.

How about we use it in a different way?  As in, I am so over comparing myself to others.  I am beyond compare.

It can be tempting to compare ourselves, our accomplishments, our possessions, even our appearance to others. What does that get us? We might think we fall short and feel bad about ourselves or feel jealous of someone else. Or we might think we are better than someone else, and you know that’s a lovely attitude.

Either way, we are seeing it as a competition. While we could be encouraging and supporting each other through the journey, we might end up focused more on how we measure up. It sounds like a recipe for dissatisfaction and strife.

How about this? Let’s all do the best we can, work hard, and treat ourselves and others with kindness and respect. Forget trying to measure up to anyone else. Just be the ‘you’ you want to be, the very best version of yourself. You are beyond compare.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Beyond Compare

  1. One of my favorite movies is the Swedish Film, My Life as a Dog. The line I always remember is “It’s important to compare. Always compare.” In context it was to prove that our own situation is not really as bad as we might think because there is some dog out there who has it much worse.

    • I’ll grant you that. Comparison can show us how fortunate we are. Too often, though, I think comparison makes us wish to be something we aren’t or to have something we don’t. I’m all for setting goals and working hard to achieve them, but I also think we should seek a sense of contentment in our lives. It might sound like a contradiction, but I do think this is possible. And when it comes to our goals, I think we should be striving to be the best we can be, not to measure up to someone else.

      I have never seen that movie. I should check it out. Thanks, Tammy!

Leave a Reply

