Life, loss and lessons

Hard to sum up the last week, but I do feel like sharing. Last Thursday I went in for my annual check-up. I am a breakfast eater, and I ate breakfast like always before I went. Little did I know that this would be the year that my doc wanted to check my cholesterol and glucose. Whoops. That had to wait for another day.

I had my typical busy Friday, with the homeschool co-op, and I was tired by the end of the day. I dragged myself off the couch for a thirty minute run, but I did not enjoy it. Got through the evening, kids put to bed, etc. and then got a phone call. Someone I know was in the hospital. Things were not looking good for her. I was so taken aback that my mind was in a bit of a fog as I tried to determine exactly what this meant and tried to contact others who would want to know. Then I headed out to the hospital. I spent several hours sitting with her in her room, did a little reminiscing (though I don’t know if she could hear me) and visited with others who were there to see her. Realizing I would need to be up in a few hours again to manage my children’s busy Saturday, I headed home around 2:30 am. I went through the Saturday routine and got a call in the afternoon that she had passed away.

I am grateful that I got that phone call that allowed me to go see her one more time.

I was beginning to feel pretty run down. I was scheduled to sing at church on Sunday, and I did, along with playing cowbell. (I can’t think of cowbell without thinking, “More cowbell!” but it was just one of several percussion instruments we used to accompany an upbeat African song.)

The one thing I did skip was my long run for the weekend. I was so tired and feeling like I was coming down with a cold. My body craved rest, so I rested as much as possible.

So far this week, I have managed to keep up with our homeschool schedule, and have completed a sixty minute run. Not much else, to be honest. Trying to rest up and get better. I did go in for my blood draw this morning. I have family history of high cholesterol and diabetes, but I am hopeful I will have good results.

Friday will be the funeral.

Sunday will be my daughter’s birthday party.

And so it goes.

For M. ~

You demonstrated a quiet strength that inspired those of us who knew you.

You showed that patience and persistence are not mutually exclusive.

You helped me see that even when communication is not easy, it is so worth the effort.

Thank you for the lessons you shared, simply by being you.

You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

