My Martha Moment

Okay, so I like to cook.  I like to craft.  And I have a confession to make.  I don’t get into Martha Stewart.  It’s not that I actively dislike her.  I don’t dislike her at all, really.  I just don’t watch her shows or read her magazines.  I could probably learn a lot from Martha.  As I understand it, she has perfected the things that I like to dabble in.  For whatever reason, though, she just hasn’t appealed to me.  I think she just strikes me as a little more formal than I tend to be, or wish to be.

And then…

Thanks to my CSA newsletter, I have gotten a little taste of Martha’s expertise.  The woman knows what she is doing.  At least when it comes to her most unusual and fabulous salsa recipe that I tried.  I simply must pass this on.  It’s too good to keep to myself!

Cranberry-Avocado Salsa

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 minced jalapeno
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped
  • 2 ripe avocados, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 3/4 cup halved cranberries
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • Pita crisps or tortilla chips

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice, 2 tablespoons honey, 1 minced jalapeno (seeds removed for less heat, if desired), and 1/4 cup chopped red onion.
  2. Add 2 ripe avocados, cut into 1/4-inch pieces, 3/4 cup halved cranberries, drained well on paper towels, and 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro. Season with coarse salt and ground pepper; toss gently to combine. Serve with Pita Crisps or tortilla chips, as desired.

I thought it sounded strange, but worth a try.  After all, I had two pints of cranberries and about six avocados in my refrigerator, thanks again to my CSA.  We loved it!  I will be making this again, perhaps this weekend.  While salsa isn’t exactly standard fare for Christmas, this particular salsa has a holiday flair both in appearance and taste.

Try it!  You’ll be glad you did!

2 thoughts on “My Martha Moment

  1. Pingback: Christmas 2011 « Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

