Why I Started Blogging

My husband kept telling me I should start a blog. He must have had a hunch I would enjoy it. For quite a while, I shrugged the idea off. Some of my thoughts on the matter:

~ Who am I to write a blog?
~ I’m busy enough the way it is.
~ I would be too nervous to put my personal thoughts ‘out there’ for anyone and everyone to see.

Over a matter of months, though, the idea kept creeping back to mind. It did seem like something I would enjoy doing (as long as I could get over the fact that people might actually read it – yes, I am pretty shy). Eventually, I decided to take the plunge and give it a try.

I started Be Not Simply Good just over a year ago. It has served as an online journal of sorts, a place to share, a place to put goals in writing. As the title suggests, I am trying to “be good for something” in this life by making good choices in the little things. This blog serves as a tool for being more mindful of my choices. Not only does writing about my life lead me to put more thought into things, the very fact that I am sharing my goals gives me a greater sense of accountability. Knowing that someone else may benefit from some of my experiences makes it all the better!

Over the past year, as I have been sharing here and reading other blogs, I have found that connections with others are a fun aspect of blogging. I’ve “met” people through blogging that I would never have met otherwise.

I find inspiration all around me. I believe that we can all learn so much from each other. My Grandma inspired me to see the positive in all circumstances and to work hard. My parents inspired me to live within my means and avoid debt. My husband inspires me to never stop learning. My in-laws have inspired me to get off the couch and be more active. My children inspire me to see all the wonder in the world and to interact with the world around me. “My” CSA farmer (yes, I claim him as my very own) has inspired me to give more consideration to what I put in my body. Fellow bloggers inspire me to try new recipes, new workouts, and to be more open. Honestly, my family and friends inspire me in more ways than I could list in a brief blog post.

Blogging has been such a positive experience. I hope to keep connecting, keep learning, and keep sharing. Blessings on your day!

4 thoughts on “Why I Started Blogging

Leave a Reply

