What’s Up?

Hi there. What’s up world? I hope life is treating you well. Things have been as busy as ever for me. I spend the bulk of my day doing schoolwork with my kiddos. I’ve got projects galore at work right now, as well. That’s good, right? I think so. I’m fortunate to not only have a job (especially in this rough economy), but to have a job that is flexible enough to allow me to be home with my children and still contribute to my formerly full-time workplace.

I picked up our CSA boxes yesterday. It was a vegetable AND fruit day, so my refrigerator, hanging baskets and counters are FULL. We’ve got squash, sweet potatoes, carrots, apples, oranges and greens in mass quantities. Oh, onions too. We have a three tiered hanging basket full of onions and garlic. It’s a good thing I like cooking with them! We got a new item in our fruit share this week. I hear all the time how wonderful pomegranates are for us, but I never buy them. Why not? Because I’m really not sure what to do with them. Now that I have received several in my CSA box, it’s time for me to take the plunge and finally figure it out. We haven’t experienced as many new foods in the fruit share as we did in the vegetable share, but there have been a few. Pomegranates, persimmon and figs come to mind. It’s still fun trying new things, but I must admit, I don’t like all of them. I found out that I don’t care for figs (though I like Fig Newtons – go figure), and I’ve found that a cheese share goes largely wasted on me. In my defense, I did decide to sign up for the cheese share before I discovered that dairy bothers my stomach. Now that I’ve figured that out, I’m not eating all that much cheese. (And I’m a little picky about the cheese. Shh. Don’t tell. I don’t like to think of myself as a picky eater. Thankfully, my husband is not picky about cheese and enjoys all of them.)

In fitness news, I started the 30 Day Shred on November 1st. My goal is to do it everyday of November. With Thanksgiving coming up, we’ll see how that goes. I’m not sure when/if/how long we might be away from home, so that might throw me for a loop. I’m also keeping up with a minimal running schedule. I’m dreaming and scheming of races for next year. I plan to put the focus more on running starting in December or January (depending on exactly what training plan I will be doing).

With Halloween just a few days past, I have to admit, I am proud of myself. I ate a few pieces of candy on Halloween, but I haven’t had any since. I usually gobble up any leftover candy that we have, and then I dip into my kids’ candy. I don’t think it’s a big deal to eat a little candy here and there, but I have overindulged in the past. If I think about it, I would rather have a quality dessert now and then than eat Halloween candy. My husband’s homemade pumpkin pie is WAY better than Halloween candy! And I would like to eat nourishing foods for the most part, not fill up on a lot of sweets. So there you have it, my choice to stay out of the candy.

Hasta luego! (Have I mentioned that I’m helping my daughter practice Spanish?)

P.S. If you have any tips for me on how to eat the pomegranates, I welcome your tips!

2 thoughts on “What’s Up?

Leave a Reply

