Uncommonly Good

When I threw together this concoction the other day, I thought it would be pretty good. In my book, it’s hard to go wrong with butter, cheese and cream involved. Seriously, though, the combination of flavors was SO GOOD. With a taste like this, I had to share. Now, hopefully you like this savory type of dish. 🙂

Sage Squash Alfredo

Ingredients
Squash (I used kombocha and sugar dumpling squash from the CSA)
Alfredo Sauce
Navy Beans (cooked, about 1/2 cup)
1 small onion
1 clove garlic
olive oil
1 T chopped fresh sage (this was from our garden, yum!)
pasta of choice, I used rotini

Directions
*Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut squash open and remove seeds. Place open-side down on baking sheet and cook for 30 to 40 minutes, until beginning to get tender. Remove from oven and allow to cool a bit, so you will be able to handle it.
*You can wait a little bit before starting the next steps. The squash takes longer than anything else. Have a glass of wine or play a game of hide and seek with your kids. Whatever you like to do with a little free time. 🙂
*Chop onion and saute in olive oil until tender.
*Meanwhile heat water to cook your pasta according to package directions. If you make your pasta from scratch, more power to you! (Maybe you could give me some lessons.)
*Mince garlic and add to pan. Continue to saute for another minute or so. Add beans and continue heating. Cut the squash into 1 inch chunks and add to pan. Add chopped sage and continue heating. *Finally pour alfredo sauce over the mix and cook until hot.
*Serve the sage squash alfredo sauce over pasta and enjoy!
(Because I am me, I served it with a layer of spinach beneath the pasta and sauce. I love my spinach! You can try that if you like, or skip the spinach.)

Do you ever find yourself surprised at just how good certain things taste together? I, for one, enjoy that kind of surprise! 🙂

Leave a Reply

