French Onion Soup

Hello!  I’m so excited to drop in and share a recipe!  I have been missing from my own blog, and I have also been missing reading and keeping up with you all. I hope you are having a terrific fall!

Life has taken on such a whirlwind quality lately that I’ve had to step back from my blog fun.  As you may know from reading my “About” section, I really try to use my time well, and currently, the vast majority of my time is spoken for.  If my free time comes down to choosing between the computer and family time or the computer and working out or getting enough sleep, well, the computer has to wait. (That sounds like a healthy choice, right? And it’s just the way it is for me right now.) But like I said, I have missed connecting with fellow bloggers as well as sharing more often about what we’re up to. 

I wanted to share a delicious soup recipe.  If you have even half as many onions as I do, you just might appreciate making a few of those onions the star of your dinner.  Even if you don’t have mass quantities of onions, this soup is certainly worth a look.  It is scrumptious.  That’s not a word I tend to use, which tells you this is a good one.  🙂

Here goes.

French Onion Soup

Ingredients

*4 large red or yellow onions, peeled and thinly sliced
*olive oil
*2 cloves of garlic, minced
*4 cups beef stock (you can try chicken or vegetable stock at your preference, but beef is the traditional stock)
*1 bay leaf
*1/4 t dry thyme
*salt and pepper
*4 slices toasted French bread
*1 cup grated Swiss cheese

Directions

*Coat bottom of large sauce pan with olive oil.  Saute onions on medium heat until soft and browned, about a half hour.
*Add garlic and saute for one minute.  Add the stock, bay leaf and thyme.  Cover and simmer until the flavors are well blended, about a half hour.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Discard the bay leaf.
*Put soup into individual oven-proof soup bowls or one large casserole dish.  Cover with the toast and sprinkle with cheese.  Cook in oven on top rack for 10 minutes at 350 degrees, or until the cheese bubbles and is slightly browned.
*Enjoy!

image

2 thoughts on “French Onion Soup

Leave a Reply

