My second half

I ran my second half-marathon on Saturday ~ The Dick Beardsley Half Marathon in Detroit Lakes, MN. You might be surprised to hear that. I talked about my training a lot for my first half-marathon in May. If I’m not mistaken, I didn’t say a peep about the second. The reason is that I didn’t decide to do it until fairly close to race-day and didn’t put in the training that I did the first time. I suppose part of me thought if it was a total flop, no one had to be any the wiser. 😉

I can confirm that it was a different experience from the Fargo half-marathon in May. I wasn’t as prepared, and I felt it. Whereas at Fargo, I jogged along feeling great and grinning the whole way, for the Dick Beardsley, my legs felt pretty sore when I still had several miles to go. Not an injury, nothing I couldn’t live with for a few more miles, I just had sore legs.

I ran this half-marathon with my sister-in-law. It was her first half, and I hoped that having company along the way would be helpful. I know it meant a lot to me having another of my sisters-in-law running with me at Fargo.

Now she can check half-marathon off her list, and now I’ve got two of them under my belt. (Still dreaming of a possible full someday, but I’ve got a long way to go in training…)

Here we are with Dick Beardsley himself at the end. That’s me on the right with the dopey grin. I think I must get a little of that runner’s high that we hear about. Or maybe I was just that happy to be done. Or that happy to meet Dick Beardsley. Probably all of the above. 🙂

Running the half on Saturday has renewed my enthusiasm. Now I’m kicking myself for not signing up for the TC10. I’m not sure if I’ll have any more races in 2011, but I want to keep running and working toward 2012!

Fellow runners, do you have any big events still coming up in 2011? Do you typically run throughout the winter or take some time off?

4 thoughts on “My second half

  1. I think it’s so cool that you ran this with your sister. I no longer run but when I did, races (or runs since I ran but didn’t race) were what kept me motivated.

Leave a Reply

