Let the new (school) year begin!

Wow! It’s been a busy week! We had a very nice holiday weekend then jumped right into the new school year. It’s been an adjustment, but I’m finally coming up for a little air. This has been the first week of third grade for my daughter and first grade for my son. This has involved a lot of reading aloud on my part (and I do a lot of that anyway, just for fun). I actually have a sore throat from all the reading, but I think I’ll adjust. We do get to read some really interesting books, and I very much enjoy sharing in this process with my children. Next week we will also start our co-op classes, so that will be another adjustment as we are at classes all day on Fridays and adding homework from those classes into our daily routine. I expect that soon enough it will all feel normal again. As long as the load is reasonable, we always seem to adapt, don’t we?

Speaking of adapting reminds me of a favorite line from the movie my husband and I saw last night. Thanks to Bliss.com, we got to see a pre-screening of the movie Moneyball. Without giving too much away (I hope), it was about a Major League Baseball team working to build a winning team in a new way. That favorite line I referred to was, “Adapt or die!” Another favorite line for me was, “Baseball thinking is medieval.” The movie was entertaining; the whole theater burst into laughter quite a few times. (I thought Jonah Hill was great in this movie.) It also showed what can happen, good and bad, when we decide to approach an old problem in a new way. They say the definition of insanity is to keep doing the same thing over and over, expecting different results. Sometimes we just have to turn everything upside-down and try something totally new. Something to think about, eh?

I better get back to work. My daughter asked to take a little break, so I thought I’d stop in and say hello here and catch up a bit on my email.

I hope to get on a little more next week. I’m dying to talk about a book I’ve been reading (finally). Have a great weekend!

~Melissa

2 thoughts on “Let the new (school) year begin!

  1. The new school year is a crazy adjustment. I remember having a sore throat when I was teaching because the sudden increase in talking. And I already talk a lot. LOL

    I wanted to be able to do that prescreening thing too but the dates just didn’t work out with us. Boo! It sounded like a lot of fun!

    • I already talk a lot too. And start singing in September. Now that I think about it, no wonder my throat is sore. Ha!

      I was glad we were able to go. My husband said of course he wanted to see a movie about baseball and statistics. Two things he really likes. 🙂

      Have a good weekend Tina!

Leave a Reply

