Roasted Vegetables with Pasta and Garlic Sauce

Yesterday I picked up a big box of goodness.  Included in this week’s share:

Italian garlic, yellow onions, shum choy, watermelon, other small unidentified melon, cucumbers, summer squash, tomatoes, saute mix, potatoes, edamame, yellow beans, poblano peppers, red bell peppers, sweet corn, mild cheddar, pesto cheddar, and blue cheese.

image

First thing on my agenda was to roast some veggies. I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by squash, so I included all my squash, along with onion, red peppers and cherry tomatoes. I cut them up, coated them with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted them at 350 for 20 minutes.

We ate some with pasta and garlic sauce last night, and I will be using the leftovers in wraps and omelettes. How convenient that will be. 🙂

For last night’s garlic sauce, I peeled two whole garlic bulbs, cut the cloves in half, and heated with a cup of veggie broth until tender. I poured the mix into the blender along with a splash of cherry balsamic vinegar and pureed into a thin sauce to drizzle over the pasta and vegetables.

image

What do you like to cook ahead and use throughout the week? It can be just about anything for me. I love having a quick option for a healthy meal just waiting for me!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetables with Pasta and Garlic Sauce

  1. Well, I am very glad I found you. I pick up the same box of produce last Thursday and I don’t know what to do with the shum choy. I’m thinking about doing a stir fry, but that doesn’t sound very appealing. Do you have any other suggestions?

    With all the eggplants and squash we’re getting each time, I decided to saute some last week with garlic and onions and then blended it in the food processor and I added it to spaghetti sauce. Once blended though you could add it to a lot of things.

    • What I most often do with greens is either include in a stir-fry (sorry!) or saute with onion and garlic. Thankfully for me, I like stir-fry. If I didn’t, I would have a tough time getting through all the greens, especially in the spring! I’ve only tried this with kale, but it might work for some other sturdier greens – I cut into small pieces, tossed in olive oil and salt and baked for a few minutes – crispy kale chips. They were quite good.

      Thank you for the tip about the eggplant and squash! That sounds like a great way to creatively use up more of those items!

Leave a Reply

