Late Summer Fun

Summer is ending soon, and work is busy right now, but we’ve still managed to have a few days of pure fun! (For the record, these days do include some work, but if I can have a good balance of work and play, that IS a fun day for me!)

Yesterday I took my children and my son’s friend mini-golfing. It was a beautiful day, and we’re within easy walking distance of a golf center. I wasn’t up for taking three young children to play real golf by myself, but mini-golf was a lot of fun! We also baked some cookies, which is more of a winter activity for us, but my son really wanted to bake cookies with his friend. Last night, our family went to a play, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. All the actors were children or teens from our area, and my daughter was thrilled to see her swimming teacher on stage. They did a great job! By the way, if you haven’t read the book, I recommend it. It has more detail than the movie, as I think is just about always the case. 🙂

I’m just about to take my children to a birthday party this morning, and we’ll be going swimming later in the day. Tomorrow we’re heading out of town for a wedding. Just fun, fun, and more fun (with work interspersed here and there).

We got two huge boxes of produce yesterday – a vegetable share and a fruit share. For dinner last night we had a great stir-fry, using my favorite orange-peanut sauce along with a chicken breast and tons of fresh squash, carrots, onion, and greens. We also had quinoa and watermelon that was pretty much bursting with sweetness.

We got several tomatoes and several avocados. Yes, you guessed it. Guacamole will be happening this week! I sure do love having all this fresh food! Ready made snacks (pluots, pears, oranges, apples, peaches, cherry tomatoes…) and flavorful items for cooking! We certainly notice a difference when the CSA season ends for the year. We’ve become a little spoiled, I think. Hmm. Is it spoiled or just the way it ought to be, having fresh produce that really tastes great?

Here’s what we got this week:

edamame, slicing tomatoes, red grape tomatoes, vitamin green bunching green, cucumbers, summer squash, yellow onions, Italian garlic, green bell and Italian peppers, gold potatoes, sweet corn, watermelon, another small melon that I can’t name, green and yellow beans, Thai basil, grapes, oranges, peaches, pluots, avocados, pears, and Gala apples (one of my favorite varieties).

What are you doing this weekend? I hope you have a good one (and a good Friday too)!

Leave a Reply

