Presto Pesto Potatoes

Believe it or not, until this week I had never made pesto. That’s probably strange for someone who has had basil in her herb garden for the last three summers. The basil has been especially plentiful this year. I decided it was high time to give it a try, and I was very happy with the result. If you’ve become familiar with my cooking style, you probably know that I don’t often follow recipes to a T. I am pretty free and easy with substitutions and often add my seasonings with a flourish instead of a measuring spoon. With this pesto, I didn’t use all the typical ingredients (I have never had pine nuts in my house, ever), but I did measure. 🙂

Presto Pesto Potatoes

Pesto

2 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
5 ounces grated parmesan
1/3 cup chopped walnuts
3 cloves garlic

Because my food processor is teeny tiny, I used my blender. You may find a food processor works better. I couldn’t say. All I know is that I had to pause and push my basil down many times in the blender, because it tended to rise above the blades.

Place basil and walnuts into your chopping device of choice. If your walnuts are not already chopped, you’ll probably want to start with the walnuts alone, then add basil. Mince your garlic by hand first, then add to the basil/walnut mixture. While blending/processing, slowly pour in the olive oil. Finally, add the cheese and blend/process to desired consistency. Add salt and pepper to taste, if desired.

Potatoes

Cut new potatoes into one inch chunks. Leave skins on. Boil until tender.

Add desired amount of pesto and toss to coat. Enjoy!

Originally, when I decided to make pesto, I had it in mind to put it on pasta. Then I looked at my lovely bag of new red potatoes from the CSA, and I knew it had to be pesto potatoes instead. It was delicious! My husband also said that this pesto was better than any store-bought pesto he’s ever had. Good thing I finally decided to give it a try, eh? 🙂

image

What do you like to eat with pesto?

Leave a Reply

