In the dirt

I spent a quite a bit of time in the dirt this weekend.  My husband and I weeded our garden and harvested some peas and radishes.  We have some blossoms starting on our watermelons, and it looks like we will get about 3 or 4 ears of corn.  Not much of the corn we planted came up.  We finally have a few blossoms on our tomato plants too.  Time will tell if we get some tomatoes.  We started them from seed, and we might not have gotten them transplanted soon enough.  Our spring was cold, though, so I don’t know what we could have done differently.  However much we get, I have enjoyed our experience with the garden this summer. 

Outside the garden, I also did some mowing and more weeding in rockbeds and flower beds.  So far, so good as far as allergies.  I’m so glad! I like to be outside, plus there is plenty of work to be done outside.  It is hard for me to stay indoors when my allergies are at their worst. 

I’d like to share a recipe for the potato salad I brought to a potluck dinner over the weekend.  It’s not a typical potato salad, and it’s perfect for this time of year.  Our vegetables came from the CSA, but they are also available at the grocery store or farmers’ market.

Ingredients:
1 pound new red potatoes
1 pound green and yellow beans
1 small sweet onion
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
* Gently scrub potatoes.  Leave skin on.
* Bring pot of water with potatoes to a boil. Cook until they can be pierced with a fork or toothpick.  Remove to a bowl to cool.
* Trim beans and cut to 2 inches in length.  Bring pot of water and beans to a boil.  Cook about 5 minutes until crisp-tender.  Remove from pan and allow to cool.
* When potatoes have cooled, cut into 1 inch chunks.
* Chop onion.  Combine potatoes, beans, and onion in a large bowl. 
* In a small bowl, combine olive oil, vinegar and parsley, and pour over vegetables.  Toss to coat. 
* Chill in refrigerator for one hour. Add salt and pepper to taste.

image

I listed red wine vinegar, which is what I would normally use. This time, I used a fun vinegar that my husband picked up for me.

image

I worried that the cherry flavor might not go, but it was good.Isn’t it nice that my husband bought me fancy vinegar? I think he gets me. 😉

This week kicks off another phase of ‘busy sporty summer.’ My daughter starts track and field, and my son starts a new session of golf. And hopefully I will continue to squeeze in some running.

Do you like to dig in the dirt? How would you describe your summer?

HaPpY MoNdAy!!

2 thoughts on “In the dirt

  1. I love the look of your potato salad as I often don’t like it because of the eggs and mayonnaise. This is lovely and light and nearly Nicoise!

    • I don’t eat mayo, and I like to make alternative versions of mayo-typical foods. Like you said, it’s lighter, which suits me better, especially during the hot summer months.

Leave a Reply

