Southwest Chicken and Slaw

Last night’s dinner was a fun twist on the ordinary chicken dinner.  I had two chicken breasts thawed but no particular plan for them.  I decided to spice them up with a little salsa.  In case you didn’t know, salsa makes everything wonderful.  🙂

I cooked the chicken in a bit of olive oil.  After they were cooked through and browning nicely, I smothered them in salsa and turned the heat to low to let the flavors mingle.

Meanwhile, I made some cole slaw, again with a twist.  I chopped about 1/3 head of cabbage, one avocado, and one jalapeno pepper.  For the dressing, I mixed 2 T olive oil, 2 T rice vinegar, the juice of two limes, 1 t of cumin, and 2 t dry cilantro. I would skip the vinegar next time.

I also made mashed potatoes, and while I really wanted to spice them up too, I didn’t.  I knew my kids would be disappointed if I messed with their beloved mashed potatoes.

I think this is a relatively healthy version of a chicken dinner as well. Salsa is great for adding a lot of flavor without high calories or fat. Similarly, this cole slaw has olive oil and avocado, which are healthier fats than mayo, as far as I’ve read. 🙂

image

How do you like to change up a standard recipe?

Leave a Reply

