Oh, I am so embarrassed…

These words make me think of Grover.  Can you tell I’ve read The Monster at the End of this Book a lot over the years?  🙂

image

Another title that occurred to me was “I Am Not A Criminal!” but I thought that might be a little extreme. Anyway, I promised to tell you what had me all embarrassed last week, and I’m true to my word.  First, you have to know I have allergies.  They vary greatly in severity from year to year.  I have taken prescription meds for allergies in the past, but in recent years, I have gotten by either without medication or with the occasional over-the-counter medication for a few days here and there when symptoms were at their worst.  This July has been, BY FAR, my worst allergy season in years!

As a result, I have been taking OTC Claritin D.  As you may or may not be aware, the sale of Claritin D is regulated by the Drug Enforcement Agency.  Apparently it can be used for illegal purposes.  I really wouldn’t know. That’s not my thing.

So, I head to my pharmacy to get a new box.  I present my driver’s license as always, and am told, “I’m sorry.  You have exceeded the limit.  We cannot legally sell this to you.”

Do the pharmacy workers, and the other customers in line, think I’m a drug fiend or criminal? I wondered to myself. I was embarrassed at the thought.

I felt really frustrated in addition to embarrassed.  I hardly even use medication for my allergies, so how could I have exceeded the limit?

1) There is an error in the database?

2) Someone has misused my identity?

3) You truly cannot buy enough to take as directed on the packaging for more than ten days?

Apparently, number 3 is the winner. The pharmacist said if I had a prescription, I would be able to purchase more. I called up my doctor, who called in a prescription for me, and I now have a new supply. And now that it’s a prescription, I can use our Health Savings Account to pay for it. So there. 😉

I was pretty frustrated over the whole thing. Because of someone else’s bad choices when it comes to using or misusing medications, I felt that I was being treated like a criminal. Again, due to someone else’s bad choices, I found myself unable to take the medication that would relieve my allergy symptoms until I could speak to my doctor. I simply wasn’t aware that this could happen when it’s offered as an over-the-counter medication, otherwise I would have planned ahead and made arrangements with my doctor in the first place. Luckily, I didn’t have too large a gap in doses, so I didn’t suffer too long due to this regulation.

I also couldn’t help but laugh a little about the whole thing. Anyone who thinks I’m interested in drug abuse clearly doesn’t know me. I’m the one who stopped drinking soda because I don’t want to be addicted to any substance, and I believed I was addicted to the caffeine. If I’m concerned about caffeine, how likely am I to get involved in drugs? I value my health and my life too much to throw it away for drugs! I just want to breathe freely and relieve the sinus pain and itchy eyes that come along with my allergies.

If you didn’t know about these regulations, now you do! And now you know one of the things that had me so irked last week. I had “one of those days” and this was part of it.

Have you ever had an embarrassing public moment that you’d care to share? You might make me feel a little better. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Oh, I am so embarrassed…

    • Thanks, Brittany! I remember your post about tips for dealing with allergies. I’ve been thinking I need to find some local honey. It makes sense. 🙂

  1. I worked in a drug store for almost four years (had to leave just this past August because of school), and there were certain things on the shelf that had notes telling people they had to get them in the pharmacy. I’m not sure if the pharmacy had a database with a limit thing, because I worked at the check-out and not the in the pharmacy, but I suppose it makes sense that they would… We also had a poster in our break room that had a warning for products people use to make meth. We never had a problem with people buying too many of those things that I can remember, but I guess they figure it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Leave a Reply

