Washing Away a Bad Day

I’m sitting here typing on Thursday (though it will be Friday morning when I hit ‘publish’). We’ve had a rainy day. I know sometimes a rainy day can feel gloomy. It can make a person feel sort of down or lazy. That hasn’t been the case for me today, in spite of having a rocky start. I got only four hours of sleep last night, if that. I was up worrying about something, doing what I could, which wasn’t much, and was just not able to sleep. As you can imagine, that doesn’t get me off to a great start. I thought it was going to be a pretty lousy day.

It started out pretty ordinary, though. I got some breakfast for my kids and myself, got a load of laundry started, and headed out to my daughter’s swimming class. When we got home it was time to make lunch. I made a rather odd lunch to use up last week’s produce before picking up our new box later today. I filed a bunch of paperwork that had been taking up counter space. I don’t know why, but that is one of my most dreaded and most put-off tasks. I am happy to have it done for the moment (though new paperwork will always crop up in short order). I did more with the laundry, worked out, and got a few other odds and ends done. I’ve felt really tired, but I’d rather keep moving. This afternoon when I went out to bring the garbage containers back in after today’s pickup, it was raining harder than ever, and it felt SO GOOD. I felt like it was just washing away all the yucky feelings, the worry, the fatigue, the frustration and embarrassment. I’ll tell you all about the frustration and embarrassment, just not today. I promise.

If you wonder what my kids were up to while I scurried around getting things done, they played some, they fought some (I refereed some), they helped some, they copied me while I exercised… They’re in the mix. 🙂

And just because I love to share my glorious CSA bounty with you all, here is this week’s share:

image

Broccoli, zucchini, cucumbers, carrots, yellow and green beans, scallions, garlic, amaranth, sweetheart cabbage, saute mix, baby bok choi, holy basil, radish seed pods, grapefruit, cherries, mango, tangerines, nectarines, limes, and plums. That’s a lot of food!

Bad mood banishers: I mentioned some of mine in the course of describing my day: staying busy, doing what I can to address the problem if there is one, playing with my kids (serious mood brightener), and exercise. Sometimes I can’t take time for all of these, but I’d try to at least do some. Getting outside, Bible study and prayer can also help me. And then there’s my form of meditation – chopping veggies.

How do you move past negative feelings that drag you down?

Do you like rainy days?

I hope you have a good day and great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

