Orange Peanut Stir Fry Take 2, with picture

Since I was asked to share a picture of this dish (which I warned you wasn’t too pretty), I will share my second version along with a picture. As I’ve said before, one great thing about stir-fry is the many varieties that are possible, using what you have on hand. That said, I used slightly different veggies than I did when I shared the recipe last week. I’ll just go ahead and indicate what I used last night and you can take a look at the picture too.

Veggie Stir-Fry with Orange Peanut Sauce

2 cups Sweetheart Cabbage, sliced thin
1/4 cup white onion, chopped
2 garlic scapes, chopped
1 cup sugar snap peas, cut in half
1 cup broccoli, chopped (florets and stems)
1 chicken breast, cut into small chunks
1 T toasted sesame oil
3 1/2 T soy sauce
3 T cashew (peanut) butter
3 T rice vinegar
1 t ground cumin
1/2 t ground coriander
1 1/2 to 2 t ground white pepper
1 to 1 1/2 t freshly ground black pepper
juice of one orange

~Wash and cut all vegetables. Set aside in separate piles as they will be added to the pan at different times.
~Trim and Cut chicken.
~In a small bowl, combine sesame oil, soy sauce, nut butter, rice vinegar, cumin, coriander, white pepper and black pepper. Stir to combine into a thick paste. Gradually add the juice of one orange and stir until well combined.
~Heat a wok or large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1 T oil to the pan. Add chicken and stir-fry about 5 minutes. Add garlic scapes, onion and cabbage. Stir-fry for another 2-3 minutes. Add remaining vegetables and stir-fry for about another 5 minutes.
~Stir in sauce, lower heat to medium and simmer for another 3-5 minutes or until sauce is slightly thickened.
~Serve over hot rice, quinoa or millet. (I used quinoa this time.)

image

So now you’ve seen it. 🙂

It’s been a little tough for me to keep up on my reading lately, but I hope you’re all doing well, and I look forward to doing some catch-up soon. We’re out of the house so much in the summer. We Minnesotans have to soak up this warm weather while we’ve got it. Plus, not to beat a dead horse, but I still don’t have a full-time, fully functioning computer. Not complaining, just explaining. 😉

I am hoping to get some advice tomorrow concerning body image issues for children, so please check back and chime in. I can’t believe this has already come up in our household, but it has. I’ll share the story tomorrow.

Happy Tuesday to you!

One thought on “Orange Peanut Stir Fry Take 2, with picture

  1. Pingback: Late Summer Fun | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

