Work and play at home

That title sort of sounds like an advertisement for a work at home opportunity. I just thought that was the best way to sum up my weekend. We are out of town on weekends fairly often over the summer, and this was one of our home weekends. After taking two afternoons last week to just hang out and play in the neighborhood, I worked my tail off on Friday. I did yard work almost all day Friday, then Saturday was a big laundry day. You see, I knew that work would wait for me. 🙂

We managed to fit in some fun over the weekend too. We had some of the kids’ friends down to play, my son went to a birthday party, and my daughter had a playdate at a friend’s house.

We went to a movie at the Cinema Grill for the first time on Saturday night. I’d been interested in checking that out for a long time. I like to eat, and I like movies. Cimena Grill sounded good to me. As for the food, there were a lot of burger and pizza offerings, along with steak, pasta and chicken dinners, appetizers and desserts. I was surprised by the amount of variety on the menu. I had a Boca Burger piled with raw veggies, served with a side of chips. It was yummy. As for the movie, we saw Kung Fu Panda 2. I had never seen the first Kung Fu Panda, and I really didn’t know what to expect. I enjoyed the movie. It touched on adoption, identity, and what it means to be family. There were some dark and scary moments, and I’m not sure it would be an ideal starting-off place to talk about adoption with a young child. If you’re interested in the movie for that reason, I’d suggest seeing it without your child first to decide if it’s appropriate.

A favorite line from the movie for me was, “You got to let go of the stuff from the past, because it just doesn’t matter. The only thing that matters is what you choose to be now.”

Love it. Yes, we all make mistakes or go through hard times. But we also get to choose each day who we are now. We don’t have to dwell on the bad stuff from the past. We can learn from it and move on. Wisdom from Kung Fu Panda. 🙂

After church and lunch, I took my children to the beach on Sunday. It was flaming hot, which is how I categorize 90 degrees. I don’t know how you southerners do it. If we topped 100 on a regular basis, I don’t know if I would continue to function normally… When we came home, the whole family played some catch and grilled out for dinner. A nice weekend.

I hope you had a nice weekend too!

Leave a Reply

