Weekend Update and Backwards Day

I thought I’d share a bit from last weekend, including a yummy recipe that you might like to try.  Friday was finally a nice day.  We had been having so much rain, and we hadn’t been home on any of the dry days.  Our lawn was in dire need of mowing.  Of course I spent much of Friday out mowing.  It’s so nice that my kiddos are big enough to play nearby while I mow.  When they were smaller, it was much harder to get certain jobs done.  I also had to go to work for a bit, and I was hoping it would still be dry when I got home, so I could finish up the mowing.  It was and I did.   

The kids and I went to watch a nephew’s baseball game on Friday late afternoon.  We have two nephews and a niece who live nearby, so we occasionally get to watch their sporting events or music recitals.  We’ve seen quite a few baseball games in the last few weeks.  We also have a few more nephews and nieces that live within a few hours from us, so once in a while, we even get to see some of their events.  It’s nice. 

On Saturday, I started the day off with a long run.  I headed out at 8:30, and it was already pretty warm, at least for running.  I covered 14 miles.  The first 9 went pretty well.  After that, my legs were getting sore and tired, and I took a lot of walking breaks.  Even so, I was glad to make it that far.  It’s my longest run so far. 

After lunch, both of my kids participated in the “Junior Golf Olympics.”  We are fortunate to live right down the street from a very family-friendly golf center.  My son has taken some lessons there, and we have golfed there as a family.  I am not good at golf, but I still have fun getting out to play with my family.  This event was fun for the kids.  They had five stations to try and earned ribbons for their efforts. 

On Saturday evening, we hosted a dinner party.  I made Chicken Florentine, a recipe that my sister-in-law shared with me.  We went ahead and included the chicken, but my sister-in-law, who is a vegetarian, says that she likes it with zucchini in place of the chicken.  I might try that sometime, but we haven’t reached zucchini season around here yet. 

Chicken Florentine Artichoke Bake

Ingredients
8 oz. dried bow tie pasta
1 small onion, chopped
1 Tbsp. butter
2 eggs
1-1/4 cups milk
1 tsp. dried Italian seasoning
1/4 to 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper (optional)
2 cups chopped cooked chicken
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese (8 oz.)
1 14-oz. can artichoke hearts, drained and quartered
1 10-oz. pkg. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained
1/2 cup oil-packed dried tomatoes, drained and chopped
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup soft bread crumbs
1/2 tsp. paprika
1 Tbsp. butter, melted

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cook pasta according to package directions; drain. In medium skillet cook onion in 1 tablespoon butter over medium heat about 5 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; set aside.

2. In bowl whisk together eggs, milk, seasoning, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, and crushed red pepper. Stir in chicken, Monterey Jack cheese, artichokes, spinach, tomatoes, half of the Parmesan, cooked pasta, and onion. Transfer to a 13x9x2-inch baking dish or 3-quart rectangular casserole.

3. Bake, covered, 20 minutes. In small bowl combine remaining Parmesan, bread crumbs, paprika, and melted butter. Sprinkle mixture over pasta. Bake, uncovered, 10 minutes more or until golden. Makes 6 to 8 servings.

 Recipe & Picture Source: Better Homes & Gardens

I made just two changes.  I substituted scallions for the small onion, and I used fresh spinach in place of frozen.  Have to use the CSA veggies whenever I can!

On Sunday, we went to church, then watched baseball games for the rest of the day.  I enjoy being outside all day like that.  So do my children, though it seems to tire us all out.  My son fell asleep right after dinner and slept all night.

On Monday morning, he asked me if we could have backwards day, and I said we could.  We started out reading “bedtime stories,” then he took the bath that he missed the previous night.  We moved on to a small ice cream cone for dessert then some dinner.  Lunch was in the middle like always, and the evening meal (breakfast) was pancakes, fruit and bacon.  I might be a little crazy allowing an ice cream cone first thing in the morning, but they get such a kick out of backwards day (as long as we still do our normal bedtime routine – I don’t think it would fly to skip bedtime stories just because we read them in the morning :)).  I figure it won’t hurt anything if we do that once in a while. 

Do you ever approach your days out of order?

One thought on “Weekend Update and Backwards Day

Leave a Reply

