More Running Musings and CSA 2011 Week 8

I recently posted about my running pace, and I marveled that my longer runs have gotten a bit faster while my shorter runs have gotten slower this year. I did get some helpful feedback on Facebook that I thought I would mention. A running friend suggested interval training – inserting some pushups or squats between 800s. Honestly, I never considered this. She also suggested increasing pace for 1/2 mile, then slowing down again, during a 3 – 4 mile run. I have to admit, I really haven’t done much with speed work, otherwise I probably would be doing something like this. As I’ve mentioned, Jeff Galloway’s Book on Running recommends doing hill work and speed work only after consistently running for a year or two. I have been running for three years now, but sadly, I’ve always drifted away from running for at least a few months over the fall/winter. In other words, I haven’t run consistently for at least a year, and I decided to keep my runs really basic so far this year. No speed work. Hills only as I encounter them – unlike my habit last summer of running up and down the same hill over and over. I don’t knock Galloway’s recommendations at all. After all, I have had fewer aches and pains this year, and I’ve run my longest distance so far. In my opinion, it’s been a good running season so far. But upon realizing that my 5K pace has dropped off, I think I will try taking my short runs a little faster and will try inserting bursts of speed in the course of my runs. I will probably save the interval/800s for winter, when I run regularly at a track. Maybe this will be the year that I keep up my running over the fall and winter!

Yesterday was also our CSA day, and here are the goods:

image

In the box: garlic scapes (the curly green things), sugar snap peas, purple scallions, kohlrabi (green and purple – fun!), mini red leaf lettuce, iceberg lettuce, strawberries, broccoli rabe, salad mix, spinach, baby white turnips, and one more bunch of greens that I can’t identify. It was above and beyond what was listed on the newsletter.

My first order of business, after getting everything ready for the fridge, was to snack on some broccoli and sugar snap peas. My son cracked me up when he went running to find my daughter, shouting, “It’s snack time! We’re having broccoli, so we can pretend to be giants eating trees!!” It’s the simple pleasures. 🙂

First dinner of the new CSA week consisted of BBQ beef sandwiches (remember that package of ground beef that I decided to spread over a few meals?), mashed turnips, and a yummy salad consisting of red leaf lettuce, the last of last week’s arugula, leaves from last week’s pea shoots, sugar snap peas, strawberries, blueberries and chopped walnuts. I had planned to use a little drizzle of olive oil and lemon juice as dressing, but the salad was so flavorful, it didn’t need anything else.

I don’t think I always loved vegetables, and I still don’t love them all, but I sure have developed an overall fondness for my veggies! I have no doubt the mounds of vegetables I eat are good for my health, and I hope that I’m giving my kids a good start. At the very least, they are exposed to a variety of healthful foods, even if they don’t jump right in to devour all of them.

I hope you enjoy this first official weekend of summer!!

2 thoughts on “More Running Musings and CSA 2011 Week 8

  1. I have also heard that inerterval training works wonders for running. Right now I am doing a lot of cross training (since I am also doing P90X) and that’s all I can handle!

    I am getting more and more intrigued by CSA. thanks to your posts. I even found a local farm that participates. I need to call them up and get some info on the cost though. If you don’t mind me asking, how does this fit into your grovery budget? Is it saving you money, or something that is worth the extra cost?

  2. I’m impressed that you are doing P90X! My husband and I did Power 90 last year, and everyday, I would watch the ad for P90X that was at the end of the dvd. I always thought it would be cool to try that someday, but I don’t know if I could actually do it!

    For the CSA cost, I’ll speak to the vegetable share only, because we are so new to the fruit and cheese, I’m not really sure. For the vegetable share, we pay about $30 for the box. The amount varies throughout the season, with the box being more full in the peak of summer than in the spring or late fall. I don’t buy many veggies outside the box, unless there is something in particular that I need for a recipe, so that $30 per week pretty well covers our veggie needs for two adults and two children. I haven’t analyzed this carefully, but I think that that our CSA share is a good deal compared to buying all organic produce at the grocery store but may cost more than buying all non-organic at the store. I think we *could* get by on an every-other-week share or sharing the box with another family. We might supplement a little more from the store, but the full share is A LOT of veggies. I enjoy having so many veggies and enjoy the challenge of including them all in our week’s meals. I hope this helps!!

Leave a Reply

