Worst Pace Scenario

I have to admit, I took my title from the name of a Ragnar Relay team. It suits my topic du jour, my running pace. I’ve never made any claims about being a fast runner. My only claims related to running are that I run and that I enjoy it.

Being on the slowish side to begin with, I wondered what was going to happen when I deliberately slowed my training pace while training for my half marathon. I wondered if I would end up losing what level of speed I had attained.

A few things happened. First of all, training in this manner did allow me to run my farthest distance to date. I finally made it past ten miles without injury. Thanks, Jeff Galloway. 🙂 In fact, the only issue I had was the one time I tried to run fast on a training run, and I had a sore ankle for about two weeks. That sold me pretty well on the slower pace. For a while.

Well… now that the half is done, and Ragnar Chicago is done, I feel a little less obligation to be conservative. Don’t get me wrong, I would hate to suffer an injury anytime, but I don’t have the weight of existing commitments on my shoulders. It gets the wheels turning…

Anyway… Back to my pace. My 10k pace has improved since last year by about 20 seconds per mile. That’s cool. And unexpected.

My 5k pace, the distance I thought I could knock out whenever I wanted, at a good (for me) pace, has slowed by 30 seconds per mile. And that was pushing hard, lungs on fire hard. That’s disappointing.

I suppose this isn’t really the worst pace scenario at all. I am pleased to have improved my 10k pace and very happy to have increased my distance. Now I’d like to get back to my best 5k pace, or maybe even better. I’m a little nervous that some joint, muscle or tendon will object, but I think I’m going to try to pick up the pace on my short runs. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Either way, slower or faster, I’m still glad to be running. It’s been good for me. 🙂

If you run, do you like to work on distance, speed or both? If running isn’t your thing, how do you approach your other fitness goals?

One thought on “Worst Pace Scenario

  1. Pingback: More Running Musings and CSA 2011 Week 8 | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

