CSA 2011 Week 7

image

In addition to a cheese share, we also signed up for a fruit share for the first time this year.  We got our first fruit box yesterday, along with our seventh box of vegetables of the season.  You should have seen the reaction as we opened our first fruit box.  All three of us, my kids and I, were ready to start eating!

Between both boxes, this is what we got:  garlic scapes, scallions, strawberries, radishes,  kohlrabi, pea vine, arugula, salad mix, mini green romaine, mini red leaf lettuce, cherries, oranges, grapes, peaches, pluots, nectarines and pineapple.

Are you drooling yet?  I just about am.  🙂

For dinner last night, I made a salad with salad mix, arugula, strawberries, parmesan and strips of steak.  I liked it.  We also munched on radishes and cherries until they were gone.  It looks like a lot of salads will be eaten this week!

After getting up early yesterday for a run, I felt like I made better use of my day.  It felt good.  The day included work and play – just what I like.  We ended the day with my son’s first baseball game.  Pretty cute.  🙂   With Grandma and Grandpa, an aunt, and two cousins present, G. felt pretty special.  It was nice of them to come!

TGIF!  We’re off to ride bikes to the park.  I can get some work done later when it’s raining, if that forecast is accurate.  I say, seize the sunny morning, as long as I can!

Have a good weekend!  Are you doing anything special for Father’s Day?

6 thoughts on “CSA 2011 Week 7

    • Check localharvest.org for info on farmers markets and CSAs in your area. We have really enjoyed our CSA experience. We sure do eat more vegetables now.

    • The cherries were a treat! I was drooling over your berries a few weeks ago. We finally made it to strawberry season here too. I love summer’s fresh produce!

Leave a Reply

