The Importance of Training in all Conditions, or Oh. My. Word.

I’ll tell you about my weekend in reverse order, otherwise the title will be a mystery for too long.  🙂

I headed out for a long run on Sunday afternoon.  Most of my outdoor running has taken place in the early morning or the evening, so a 1:30 pm start time introduced me to drastically different conditions than what I’m used to.  Oh. My. Word.  The heat!  The unbearable heat!! 

Go ahead and laugh at me.  Yes, it was only about 80 degrees.  I know some of you deal with far hotter temps than that.  But it sure felt different running in the heat than running in the 40s, 50s, or even 60s.  Wow!!

Now, I know I should be training in all kinds of weather conditions.  Race day could end up hot, cold, rainy, who knows…  Last year, I diligently ran in the cold, heat, rain, and dark.  This year, not so much. 

Ragnar Relay Chicago starts THIS FRIDAY!!  I am super excited!  I have started setting aside a little pile of things to pack in my bedroom, and I have written myself a list.  Over the next few days, I’ll have to make sure I get everything together and ready to go. 

After yesterday, I’m hoping it won’t be TOO hot this weekend.  It will be okay if it’s hot, but it will be more enjoyable if it’s a bit cooler.  I can understand why most running races are scheduled early in the morning.  Smart thinking, race coordinators!  🙂  With Ragnar Relay, though, we’ll start in the morning, and run all day and all night until we finish.  No avoiding mid-afternoon heat.  No avoiding darkness.  It’s all part of the adventure, I guess. 

In other news, my family and I made a visit up to my hometown area on Saturday.  Several of my extended family members met up with us for a picnic.  My children got to play with some of their cousins, and I got to visit with my parents, my niece and her family, and my sister-in-law.  By the way, I have six sisters-in-law.  They are all very nice.  So, if you hear me talk about ‘my sister-in-law,’ it could be any of six lovely ladies.

Perhaps I should also explain, I am the youngest in my family by several years, and I have nieces and nephews not too far from my own age.  Some of them have children – one has children older than my children.  When it comes to my side of the family, the cousins that my kids play with are actually my great-nieces and great-nephews.  Lest anyone be confused…

On the same day trip up north, we visited a good friend of mine and her family.  I have to say, I really enjoyed seeing my children playing with her little girl.  I think there is something very special about seeing the next generation getting to know each other when the parents have been friends for so long.  It was a quick trip, but I enjoyed it very much.

On Friday, it looked like we might finally get the stormy weather that had been threatening all week.  We decided to make a trip to the Children’s Museum.  After a dark and foreboding morning, it ended up just being hot and humid most of the day, with some sprinkles here and there.  I didn’t regret our ‘rainy day’ choice of the museum, though.  M & G had a great time, and we did spend all of Saturday and much of Sunday outside. 

Today is supposed to be another hot one.  It’s pretty much a work day today.  I have work to do for my job, laundry to do, and prep for the homeschool co-op planning meeting tomorrow.  Maybe I won’t mind being ‘stuck’ inside with the A/C to get my work done.  If I had time to hit the beach, that would be another good option, but I don’t think it’s going to happen today.  Such is life.  All work and no play make Jack a dull boy, but all play and no work isn’t good either.

I hope you had a nice weekend!  Happy Monday!

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Training in all Conditions, or Oh. My. Word.

    • I knew I was being a wimp about the heat!

      I haven’t tried yoga since I took a class in college. For now, it works better for me to do things that I can squeeze in whenever there’s time. Having a class at a certain time would be hard to commit to. I think I would like to try it again someday.

  1. I will readily admit that I am a wimp when it comes to training in heat/cold/(insert any other weather condition here). I usually run only on my treadmill- and then for my first 5K I had to run in the snow!

    So… you are right. It is sooooo important to train in all conditions. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

