Greens, greens and more greens!

image

image

This week’s CSA goodies:

French breakfast radish, saute mix, spinach, salad mix, asparagus, rhubarb, yukina savoy, Egyptian walking onions, green garlic, and baby white turnips. 

If you’re keeping track, four of these ARE greens, and four others have edible greens as part of them.  That’s a LOT of greens!

During our first year in the CSA (2009), I was very overwhelmed by greens.  I came to realize, we could get through more if I cooked them.  So, we generally eat raw salads most days, and I cook greens too.  I would still discard the turnip greens, beet greens, etc.  I still remember the day I decided to keep and cook the beet greens.  It seemed something in me had changed.  Apparently I had not only learned to cope with the tremendous amount of greens, I had become a greens fanatic.

I don’t always make it through those beet greens, and the like, but I can use up spinach, saute mix, sorrel, hon tsai tai, and yukina savoy like nobody’s business.

I started out this week with a recipe in the CSA newsletter that had me wrapping the turnips and radishes, greens and all, in parchment paper packets, along with olive oil, lemon juice, onion and mint, and baking for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.  I’m off to a big start for the greens.

For me, the best things about this dish were:  getting to use mint from my own little herb garden 🙂 , the novelty of the parchment paper packets, and the name – Vegetable Papillote (pah-peh-YOHT).  I enjoy saying it, ’cause I can be easily amused like that.

I have to admit, I could have done without the greens in this case.  The greens part tasted like black tea to me, which I’m not crazy about.  I liked the root part, and I thought it looked lovely on the platter.

Just four bags of greens to go!

What’s your opinion about beet greens, turnip greens, etc.?  Do you eat them?

(The pictures aren’t quite where/how I wanted them. I’m still working from my phone and doing what I can. I miss my computer.)

One thought on “Greens, greens and more greens!

  1. Pingback: Using up my CSA Box | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

