End of May Updates

Well, I’m still here without my computer.  My dear husband took it apart last night, bought a new part that he thought would fix it, and got it all assembled – alas, it still didn’t work.  I give him a lot of credit.  I would have no idea what to even try.  I don’t think he’s given up on it yet, so I’ll be waiting as he tinkers around with it.   

Now for my May updates.  For the month of May, I changed up my fitness goals.  In the previous few months, I had been setting a goal for number of crunches, pushups and dips.  For May, I felt like I needed a change.  I set a goal to follow my half-marathon training plan, to do at least fifteen workouts other than running, and to attempt to lengthen the time I could hold plank position.

How did it go?  I did follow the running plan, and I ran my half-marathon on May 21.  Since then, I’ve been on the taper side of that training plan with an 8 miler last weekend and 3 milers during the week.  I just squeaked by with fifteen other workouts (mainly dvds) throughout the month.  I did have a lot of fun with these workouts, and doing some different moves, I felt the burn in some muscles that hadn’t been used in a while!  I never did get very far with the plank.  I just didn’t do it much, and I only improved my total time by about 15 seconds. 

I considered what to do for June.  I finally made a decision that I hope will work well for me.  I will continue running, but I will not set any specific goals other than my running plan.  I have so much going on this month that I think working out whenever I can will be a great stress reliever, but if I’m trying to meet a certain number of this, that, or the other thing, I think the workouts will just be one more stressor.  I don’t want that. 

What’s on the docket this month?  Weekends away, planning for next year’s co-op classes, Ragnar Relay Chicago, playing with my kids, lots of running I hope, mowing the grass, weeding the garden, cooking lots of farm-fresh veggies, going biking and swimming with my kids, watching their sporting events, work, cleaning, planning our homeschool curriculum for next year, maybe golfing with the family.  Basically a mix of work, play and preparation for the fall, which will come quickly!  I have no idea if this sounds like much, but I do know that I have felt extremely busy these last couple of weeks and have had a hard time fitting everything in.

Exercise, especially running, is a good stress buster for me.  I want to enjoy every minute rather than worry if I’ve logged enough minutes to meet my goal.  So that’s how I decided to ditch the specific fitness goals for now and enjoy a busy start to summer.  🙂 

What are your best stress-relieving tips?

Leave a Reply

