Celebrate Spring Rhubarb Muffins

I can remember, as a child, using rhubarb to play store or restaurant. We would chew on a stalk of rhubarb just like celery. My grandparents had a good-sized patch of rhubarb, and they let my cousins and me use it while playing. I’m not sure if they had more than they could use or if they were just that generous. Probably the latter. They seemed to go out of their way to show their grandchildren a good time – taking us fishing, letting us help in their garden, showing us the stars, letting us help with various projects like painting or putting up birdhouses. (Hmm, notice that some things that might seem like a chore to an adult were terrifically fun privileges to a child?) Very fun grandparents, but I digress…

These days, the appearance of rhubarb in our CSA box is a welcome part of spring. It is certainly one item that my children are excited about. With rhubarb comes yummy baked goods! I baked up some rhubarb muffins that quickly disappeared, and I think they’re pretty healthy too. You can’t beat that!

Celebrate Spring Rhubarb Muffins

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 cup almond milk
2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups finely chopped rhubarb
1/4 cup ground flax seed

Directions:
In large bowl, combine dry ingredients. In separate bowl, combine egg, almond milk, applesauce and vanilla. Mix wet and dry ingredients until dry ingredients are just moistened. Fold in rhubarb and flax seed. Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups about 2/3 full. Bake at 375 for 16 to 18 minutes. Yield: 16 muffins.

Do you like rhubarb? What do you like to make with it?

4 thoughts on “Celebrate Spring Rhubarb Muffins

  1. I just started using the rhubarb that I transplanted from my Oakdale house. Yesterday I made strawberry-rhubarb syrup to use on ice cream, angel food cake, inside puff pastry, etc. It was yummy on ice cream last night! We are going to try it in/on crepes in the next couple of days, too, probably with cream cheese and strawberries inside.
    1/2 to 1 pound strawberries, cut up
    1 pound(5 stalks) rhubarb, cut up
    1 1/4 cup sugar ( I only used 1 cup and it was terrific)
    1 Tablespoon cornstarch…..mixed with a little cold water so it can be poured
    Place rhubarb and strawberries in a medium saucepan; add about 1/2 inch of water(about 1 cup). Add sugar; bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer 10 to 15 minutes until rhubarb is tender. Can be put in blender if you want it smooth. We didn’t do that because we like it with more texture. Add cornstarch to thicken. Server over bread pudding, pound cake, ice cream, etc. Makes about 3 cups. So it can be shared with friends and neighbors!
    I’m thinking I’ll add about a teaspoon of unflavored gelatin next time to at least half of it so it can set enough to be spread on toast, too! If you find a good substitute for the sugar, please let me know!
    I’m so enjoying reading your blog!!
    Take care,
    Barb

    • That sounds great Barb! Thank you for sharing the recipe! That’s neat that you transplanted rhubarb from your old house. I would like to plant lilac from my parents, but I haven’t done it. I’ve been so glad to be in touch with you more often again!! I was just looking at pics of R. the other day. Can’t believe he’s all grown up. As far as sweeteners, I do use sugar, but sometimes use honey or shave nectar. I know some use stevia, but I haven’t tried it. Thanks again!!
      Melissa

    • It’s quite tart. It pairs well with strawberries for pie or jam, and tastes good in sweetened baked goods. The closest comparison I can think of would be a tart apple like granny smith, and rhubarb looks similar to celery.

Leave a Reply

