Of course it was painful

No, I’m not talking about the Fargo Half-Marathon. I promise I will post a recap soon, but for the moment, here’s a passage that I’ve been meaning to share with you. It’s from What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, by Haruki Murakami. I know a lot of you are also runners or participate in other sports, and I thought you might appreciate this. 🙂

Of course it was painful, and there were times when, emotionally, I just wanted to chuck it all. But pain seems to be a precondition of this kind of sport. If pain weren’t involved, who in the world would ever go to the trouble of taking part in sports like the triathlon or the marathon, which demand such an investment of time and energy? It’s precisely because of the pain, precisely because we want to overcome that pain, that we can get the feeling, through this process, of really being alive – or at least a partial sense of it. Your quality of experience is based not on standards such as time or ranking, but on finally awakening to an awareness of the fluidity within action itself. If things go well, that is.

Yes! Running makes me feel alive!

I found this passage so inspiring. I hope you like it, too.

I have a busy day ahead, so I will say good-bye for now, and I will tell you all about Fargo soon (tomorrow morning is the plan).

Happy Monday!!

Leave a Reply

