Presidential Hopeful and a Lovely Dinner

Thanks to a friend in our homeschool group, we had the opportunity to attend a lovely dinner on Tuesday evening. Among the speakers were former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich and Congresswoman Michele Bachmann.

I was happy to have the opportunity to hear one of the declared presidential candidates speak, although this was not at all a campaign speech. I arrived at the dinner feeling rather ambivalent about Speaker Gingrich (I believe he is still referred to by that title), unsure how I would respond to his speech. I ended up really enjoying it. He spoke at length about U.S. history. I must admit that while I was in school, I did not like history. At that time, I found it rather dull. As an adult, I have come to find it much more interesting. Knowing where we’ve come from as a country, our successes and failures, helps us see where we’re headed and where we want to be.

Progress, far from consisting in change, depends on retentiveness. When change is absolute there remains no being to improve and no direction is set for possible improvement: and when experience is not retained, as among savages, infancy is perpetual. Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.
~George Santayana, Reason in Common Sense

I will never tell you who to vote for. Never. I will probably never tell you who I plan to vote for.

However, it is possible I’ll get a little excited over the political process and suggest you get involved.

I know it’s over a year until our next presidential election here in the U.S. You may think that’s too early to care, but I would disagree.

If you ever feel like you have been given two (or more) bad choices on election day, you might just want to get involved sooner. Depending on your state, you may have a caucus or a primary, and if you participate, you can have a small voice in which candidates ultimately end up on the ballot. Okay, stepping off soapbox now.

I suppose the point of all this is that there will be a number of individuals vying for our support in next year’s elections. While I probably won’t have the chance to hear all of them speak in person, I will be able to follow them in the newspaper or television news. Tuesday’s event was interesting and enjoyable, and I hope just the beginning of many chances to learn more about the various candidates.

I can’t promise that I won’t get frustrated as the election cycle moves along. It’s been known to happen. At present, though, I feel optimistic and excited.

What’s your take on politics? Interesting? Frustrating? Boring?

2 thoughts on “Presidential Hopeful and a Lovely Dinner

  1. I’ve gotten really interested in politics over the past few years. I love listening to political talk radio shows and hearing all sides. I have strong opinions, too, but try and leave them out of the blogging world. I’d love to hear Newt speak, though. I hear he could be a strong candidate for the Republican party, except for his personal past…

    • I like hearing different perspectives too. I used to listen to more talk radio, but a lot of the content is inappropriate for my kids, and I am usually with them. Thankfully, there are a lot of ways to get information!

Leave a Reply

