Say Cheese!

When we decided to sign on for a cheese share from our CSA this year, I was a little apprehensive. I am not one to eat a wide variety of cheeses. I stick to a few basics – cheddar, mozzarella, parmesan, colby, monterrey jack, maybe a little ricotta. There are far more that I would hesitate to eat. My husband, on the other hand, is an adventurous cheese eater, and I hoped that he would pick up my slack if I found our CSA cheeses too strong or too strange.

Wouldn’t you know, on the very first cheese delivery, we got this sheep cheese.

Yes, I was cringing on the inside. But… the accompanying bricks of extra sharp cheddar and mozzarella eased my mind a bit. These are cheeses I know and like. Whew!

And guess what – I have used the sheep cheese! Like I mentioned the other day, we spread a bit on crackers and raw sunchoke. I’ve now used it in an omelette, too, along with eggs, ramps, garlic, mushrooms and spinach. It was good. Even my children didn’t notice anything amiss. 😉 I’m sure I looked like the cat who’d caught the canary when I told my husband that I had put sheep cheese in the eggs. I was pretty excited that I’d eaten it. Given that he’s not as concerned about eating strange cheeses, he’s also less giddy about it when the “strange” cheese tastes good. That’s okay. I was giddy enough for both of us.

I also used some of the mozzarella for some very yummy stuffed peppers. They were super easy and helped me use up some leftover rice. (You may notice that theme with me – how can I make something new with my leftovers?)

Mozz. Stuffed Peppers
Makes three servings, or 2 adults, 2 young children.

Ingredients:
3 green bell peppers
about 2 cups rice (I used a pilaf that included various rices and black-eyed peas)
about 3-4 ounces mozzarella cheese, cut into small cubes

Directions:
Cut tops off peppers and remove seeds. Boil for 3 minutes.
Stuff with rice and cheese cubes.
Bake at 375 for 20 minutes.

Since the cheese delivery is just once a month, I don’t worry about being overloaded with cheese. You may recall that I have cut back on both dairy and gluten recently. I have to say, with the Tres Leches Cake (which probably would have been worth an upset stomach, it was so good), and now eating a fair amount of cheese in the past few days, my stomach hasn’t been bothering me. This leads me to speculate that it wasn’t the dairy that bothered my stomach, but more likely gluten (the opposite of what I suspected, actually). I suppose the only way to figure it out for sure is to go back to the cleanse level of eating and add foods back slowly, one at a time, to see when/if I have trouble. (Like the way you introduce foods slowly to a baby, in order to watch for any food sensitivities.) I wasn’t patient enough for that at the time. I just started eating both again, but less of both. I am still feeling a lot better than I had been before I did the cleanse, so I’m content. 🙂

What’s your favorite kind of cheese? Are you bold like my husband or timid like me?

2 thoughts on “Say Cheese!

    • Brittany, is it a matter of different taste during pregnancy, or is there a health reason to avoid certain cheeses during pregnancy?

      I like goat cheese in some salads. I’ll try to be open to all the cheese we get! 🙂

Leave a Reply

