14th of May & a 5K

Good Monday morning! I hope you had a great weekend!

We had a fun and busy weekend. Well, first of all, we had one wild Friday night! I’m kidding. We spent Friday evening doing lawn work. The life of a homeowner… I spend so much time mowing, weeding, picking up sticks, etc. I have my little mantra: I love my yard. I love my yard. πŸ™‚ I do love that we have our own space. It’s great for our kids to play in, and we enjoy it too, but oh my goodness, mowing the grass alone takes a chunk of time. Anyway…

On Saturday, we invited some neighborhood friends over for a “Cinco de Mayo” dinner, which, due to scheduling issues, became a Catorce de Mayo dinner. It didn’t make any difference to me. I’ll eat Mexican food and drink a margarita whenever.

We had a taco bar and a variety of dips, salads, desserts and drinks. Everyone brought something for the meal, which I love. I’m pretty sure I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating. Potlucks are wonderful! I love trying everyone’s dishes. Sometimes it’s something new to me. Sometimes it’s a friend’s signature dish that I look forward to having again. Yum!

With Mexican, we did have quite a bit of healthy fare on the menu – lots of black beans and veggies to be had. Not all healthy, but definitely some good healthy sides.

I changed up the Mexican Millet that we’ve had a few times now. I liked this version the best so far.

Catorce de Mayo Mexi-Millet

3/4 cup millet, cooked with 1.5 cups water
1 can whole kernel corn, drained
1 can diced tomatoes, drained
3 ramps, chopped (CSA)
handful of chives, chopped(CSA)
2 T cumin
handful of cilantro, chopped
juice of one lime

Directions: Cook the ramps in olive oil until tender, add corn, tomatoes, millet, chives, cumin and cilantro. Heat thoroughly and add juice of one lime. Serve.

I also made Cold Shrimp Salad. I had gotten the recipe from a book called Cooking the Central American Way, but I made a few changes to incorporate my CSA goods.

Cold Shrimp Salad

1 pound shrimp, cooked, tails removed and chopped
juice of three lemons or five limes
6 ramps, diced
1 green pepper, seeded and finely chopped
3 roma tomatoes, seeded and finely chopped
1 avocado, peeled and chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped
2 T fresh parsley, finely chopped
1/2 t salt
1/4 t pepper

Combine all ingredients. Make sure all ingredients are well covered by juice. Cover and refrigerate for at least four hours before serving.

I also made a dessert from Cooking the Central American Way. Total decadence and deliciousness (is that a word?).

Three Milks Cake (definitely not for the lactose intolerant!)

Cake:
1 c flour
1 t baking powder
5 large eggs, separated
1 c sugar
1/2 c milk
1 t vanilla extract

Milk Syrup:
1 12 oz. can evaporated milk
1 14 oz. sweetened condensed milk
1 c heavy cream

Frosting:
1 c heavy whipping cream
1/4 c sugar
1/2 vanilla extract

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350, and lightly grease a 9 inch square cake pan.
Sift together flour and baking powder.
In a large mixing bowl, use an electric mixer on medium to beat egg whites until fluffy and forming soft peaks. Add sugar, 1 T at a time and beat until mixed well. Add egg yolks one at a time, beating 30 seconds after each addition. Still beating, add half the flour mixture and half the milk to the eggs. Mix well. Add remaining flour, milk and vanilla extract and mix well.
Pour batter into pan and bake 20-25 minutes.
Allow to cool. Use fork to poke holes in cake’s surface.
Combine milks for milk syrup. Blend well with whisk and slowly pour over cake. (This was a slow process, allowing the milk to soak into the cake in order to pour all the milk syrup.)
Cover and refrigerate for at least two hours.
Shortly before serving, mix up the frosting and spread onto cake’s surface.

Like I said, we also had tacos (nothing new and exciting there, so no pictures), and some other salads, dips, drinks and desserts that friends had brought. I am perfectly willing to photograph the things I cook, but I haven’t brought myself to photograph other people’s cooking. You will have to use your imagination for the rest. πŸ™‚

We also had a pinata for the kids. They took their turns whacking the pinata from youngest to oldest, 2 to 10 years old. I won’t be sharing pics of the kids, but I assure you, they were adorable. The big kids (as in, those who were not 2 years old) played outside until it began to get dark, and then they played some more – flashlight tag. See, I do love our yard. πŸ˜‰

It was a lot of fun. We are lucky to have such nice people right here in our neighborhood.

After church on Sunday, my daughter and I ran a 5k that raised money for a ministry that our church supports. This was her second 5k. When I run with my daughter, I just have to go with the flow and do my best to match her pace. She will probably be able to run circles around me in a few years. For now, she runs faster than I would like to, then takes breaks walking more slowly than I would like to. It’s sort of exhausting trying to keep her pace, but I loved being out there together to support a good cause.

Happy Monday! Have a great week!

3 thoughts on “14th of May & a 5K

  1. So glad your 5 km went well! I love running with my kids- I think I might blog that this week!!! And, that cake looks FREAKING incredible!!! I am going to print off the recipe and let you know when I try it….maybe this weekend!!!

  2. Pingback: Say Cheese! | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

