2011 CSA Season, Week 2 Goodies

I picked up our second weekly CSA share yesterday. How did I do at using up last week’s share? Pretty well. I still had a radish, some chives and the sunchokes left from last week. I do need to get back with the program and plan my meals very purposefully around what’s in the box.

What did we get this week?

Please forgive the darkish picture. Apparently I didn’t accomodate for the gray rainy day we had yesterday when I snapped this.

So… we have parsnips, sunchokes, ramps, spinach, black radish, sorrel, chives, watercress and nettles. In addition to the veggies, we signed up for a monthly cheese share this year for the first time and got our first cheese delivery yesterday. We got cheddar, mozzarella, and garlic brebis, which is an herbed sheep cheese. This is my first time with sheep cheese, and I’ll let you know what I think of it. 🙂

I plan to share a lot of the dishes that we prepare with our CSA shares. Gotta spread the love. Seriously, I have enjoyed this experience so much. I highly recommend joining a CSA.

After sharing the Pineapple, Sweet Potato and Chicken Bake that I made last week, I thought I’d let you know about some experimenting in the kitchen that followed. I already raved about how much I liked the combination of cumin, coriander and turmeric. Well, I decided to use what I’ve begun to call “The Magic Three” again. I cut the following veggies into strips: ramps, carrots, black radish, and purple cabbage. I cooked them in olive oil until tender, then seasoned with “The Magic Three,” 1/4 cup soy sauce, and salt and pepper. I tossed in some rough chopped kale just a few minutes before I was ready to serve. I leave the amount of the spices open in the description, because tastes vary. Play around with them to get your desired result.

This was quite good. My husband even asked me what I put on the vegetables, because he thought they tasted so good. But as I was eating it, I could just imagine that it would taste even better without the radish and with the addition of cashews. Take 2. I hope my family didn’t mind too much that I made very similar dishes so close together. The second time I cooked thinly sliced: ramps, carrots, and 1/2 a sweet potato in olive oil. I seasoned with “The Magic Three” and 1/4 cup soy sauce. After the vegetables were tender, I added 1/4 cashews and about 1 cup of rough cut kale. I did like the addition of the cashews. Yum. I think I’ll play around with this some more and see what other variations I can come up with. I’ll give it a little rest, though. Don’t want to get stuck in a rut.

Do you ever think about the next creation, even as you’re eating the current one?

2 thoughts on “2011 CSA Season, Week 2 Goodies

    • The first version of cooked veggies above included a huge black radish, cut into thin slices. That was okay, but I thought the dish ended up a little too radishy and left it out of the second version. My favorite uses of black radishes have been cut up and included in a raw vegetable salad or just eaten raw. They are bigger than the red radishes I’m used to, so I cut them up into smaller pieces for munching on.

Leave a Reply

