Sweet, Sour & Spicy Goodness

I tried a new dish called ‘Pineapple Sweet Potato and Chicken Bake’ and thought it was worth sharing.  Actually, I thought it was absolutely wonderful.

I started with this recipe, but I made some changes.  The recipe I’m sharing here is my adapted version.

Pineapple Sweet Potato & Chicken Bake

Ingredients:
1 fresh pineapple, cut into chunks
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 garlic clove
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup soy sauce
1 package boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but into strips
4 scallions, chopped
2 cups sweet potatoes, diced
Ground Cumin
Ground Coriander
Ground Turmeric
1 cup water

Directions:
* Preheat oven to 375 degrees
* Combine the oil garlic, honey, soy sauce and lemon juice – mix well to make a marinade.
*  Use 1/2 of the marinade mix to marinate the chicken for 10 minutes.
*  Toss the pineapple pieces, half the scallions and the sweet potato with the remaining marinade and place it into a casserole dish. Bake 10 minutes until the potato begins to soften. Bake uncovered.
*  Add the marinated chicken, the marinade and water. Add the seasonings to suit your taste. I used about 1 T cumin, 1 T turmeric and 1 t coriander.  Cook 20 more minutes or until the chicken is cooked through and the ingredients have caramelized.
* Serve over a bed of rice or noodles and sprinkle with the remaining scallions.

I find myself using cumin quite often. What seasonings do you most often use in your cooking?

3 thoughts on “Sweet, Sour & Spicy Goodness

    • I do use garlic regularly, too. I very rarely have to buy garlic at the store since starting the CSA. I’m still on my last garlic bulb from 2o1o, and we should start getting garlic scapes soon. A couple other biggies for me are cilantro and mint.

  1. Pingback: 2011 CSA Season, Week 2 Goodies | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

