Of Note Last Weekend

We had such a nice weekend.  On Friday, my children and I spent the day at our homeschool co-op, our last day of Friday classes for the year.  On Friday evening, we went back for the end of the year showcase.  Some kids went onstage and played a musical instrument, recited a poem, or shared another talent.  Other kids, mine included, did not perform but did bring projects in for display.  All the children seemed excited and proud to share.  It was a wonderful way to end the school year.  (Not that we are quite done with school for the year, but we are done with the co-op classes.)

Saturday was a beautiful day – perfect for my long run.  I covered twelve miles, mostly running, but taking walking breaks here and there as needed.  It was the warmest weather I’ve run in so far this year, and that does feel a bit different.  When I got home from my run, my husband and children surprised me with some beautiful flowers for Mother’s Day, just a smidge early.  Earlier in the day, my husband and son had done some work around the yard while I brought my daughter to gymnastics.  My son is such a good little helper.  We played together and watched Seabiscuit (seems we like horse movies around here).  It was a nice family day.

On Sunday, after church, we headed to my in-laws’ house for lunch, along with two sisters-in-law and their families.  I brought my mother-in-law a “bouquet” of parsnips.  She likes parsnips, so I like to share the ones we get from our CSA.  🙂  We had a nice lunch together and spent the afternoon visiting and playing games.  It was rainy, but that didn’t stop the kids from playing outside most of the afternoon.  (Personally, I was glad I’d gotten my 12-miler done on Saturday without the rain!)

I hope you had a nice weekend!

2 thoughts on “Of Note Last Weekend

  1. Did I mention 12 miles is my longest distance ever? The half-marathon is in less than two weeks, and that was my last long training run.

    I did have a nice Mother’s Day, thank you! I hope you did, too, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

