Easter

I know not everyone holds to the same beliefs that I do, but I feel I would be remiss not to share about the past few days. I hope you will accept it in the way it is intended, sharing about something that is very significant to me. In turn, I would be happy to hear about traditions and beliefs that are important to you.

The season of Lent, and especially Holy Week, is incredibly meaningful to me. This season keeps me grounded in my faith. I attend church and read the Bible throughout the year, but there is something so powerful in the telling and retelling of Jesus’ suffering, death and resurrection.

And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death— even death on a cross!
~Philippians 2:8

He who had no sin loved us enough to live the perfect life we are incapable of, and to accept the punishment for sins He did not commit. For our sake. How very humbling.

It can be so easy to lose sight of this amazing gift, get caught up in our own concerns, and go on about our business. It isn’t as though I forget what He has done during the remainder of the year, but it is during Lent that the gravity of it always comes to the forefront of my mind. He died so I can live.

Singing in the church choir allows even more opportunity to focus on this amazing act of love, because we practice our Lent and Holy Week songs well in advance. We sing on Maundy Thursday, commemorating Jesus’ last supper before being arrested, when Jesus introduced communion to His disciples.

While they were eating, Jesus took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.”

Then he took a cup, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.”
~Matthew 26:26-28

We also sing on Good Friday, a service remembering Jesus’ death on the cross. This is a somber service, as you might imagine, but if we don’t remember His suffering and death, we miss the magnitude of God’s love for us. This service is one of the most significant events of the year for me. I am so humbled and so grateful that my Lord died for me.

On Easter Sunday, we remember that Jesus conquered death and sin. He rose from the dead.

As they entered the tomb, they saw a young man dressed in a white robe sitting on the right side, and they were alarmed.

“Don’t be alarmed,” he said. “You are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who was crucified. He has risen! He is not here. See the place where they laid him. But go, tell his disciples and Peter, ‘He is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him, just as he told you.’”
~Mark 16:5-7

The tone on Sunday is always celebratory. Jesus is alive, and he has taken our sins away. We are no longer separated from God.

I have fun with other aspects of Easter, too. We dye eggs.

My kids get an Easter basket of goodies.

If we are in town, we enjoy the big Easter breakfast at church, put on by the men of the church. Yes, my hubby gets to be involved with the breakfast. Sometimes we go out of town to gather with extended family. Either way, it’s a fun and festive occasion. This year, I got to see my parents over the holiday weekend, as well as participate in our church services. The beautiful weather we had on Sunday was the icing on the cake. What a wonderful holiday!

Do you celebrate Easter? What is a very significant day or event for you?

Leave a Reply

