Good for me… good for the world, Happy Earth Day!

In honor of Earth Day, I thought it would be fun to consider things we can do that are beneficial, both to ourselves and this wonderful world we live in.

* Buy locally produced foods when possible. (You benefit from the boost to your local economy, the often superior service you get from a local business, and your product has traveled fewer miles to reach you.)

* Buy organic when possible. (Great for you and kind to the earth.)

* Cook. (If you cook at home, you will reap the health benefits of controlling what goes on your plate and where/how it was produced.)

* Make thoughtful restaurant choices. (Likewise, when you do eat out, you may want to consider whether or not the restaurant uses local organic food sources or not.)

* Garden. (There’s no food source more local than that!)

* Compost. (This will help you create richer soil for your garden, reduce the amount of chemical fertilizers used and reduce waste in the landfills.)

* Get a rain barrel. (You will use less water when you make use of collected rain water for watering your garden or lawn.)

* Join a CSA. (You will support a local farmer and have the benefit of wonderful fresh produce!)

* Get active! (You will enjoy health benefits that have a ripple effect. It benefits society on the whole when individuals strive to be strong and healthy.)

* Walk or bike it. (Don’t always feel like you have to take the car, especially when you’re not going too far, the route is safe for walking/biking, and the weather isn’t severe. The exercise is good for you!)

* Set your thermostat a little higher in summer or lower in winter. (You will save energy, which in turn saves you a little money.)

There are so many things we can do, but I won’t go into all of them. These are a few particular things that we either do, or are interested in trying. As usual, you can see my thoughts don’t wander too far from my stomach, as most of my list involves food practices.

I must admit, I’m not a fan of suffering in the name of energy conservation (I’ll turn my heat down to 67 or 68, NOT 60), nor am I a fan of forcing others to make changes that they simply don’t want to make. On the other hand, I wanted to share that some of the things that I want to do for myself and my family can be a benefit, too.

What are some of your earth-friendly tips?

4 thoughts on “Good for me… good for the world, Happy Earth Day!

  1. These are such great tips. I really need/want to do a rain conservation method and will have to figure that out this year. I compost as much as possible and it makes me feel good not to waste so much.

    • Tammy, we haven’t gotten a rain barrel set up yet either, but it’s something we’d like to do. We were looking at the locations of our downspouts and pricing barrels, trying to determine what to do/how to do it.

Leave a Reply

