Operation Beautiful

I first heard of Operation Beautiful about a year ago. For anyone who isn’t familiar with it, Operation Beautiful, originated by Caitlin Boyle*, is about people leaving positive notes for someone else to find. Something to brighten someone else’s day, give them a boost, and help them remember they are beautiful and worthy, just as they are. In addition to the notes, it is also about keeping the focus positive when regarding ourselves and others.

I think it’s a very nice idea. Sometimes a small gesture can make a big difference to someone. A smile. A friendly word. We should use our words and actions to encourage and build each other up, but all too often people tear each other down instead. Operation Beautiful is all about encouraging and building up, and I think that’s a beautiful thing, indeed.

I have a daughter and a son. From the time my daughter (my first child) was born, people would comment on how pretty or cute she was. I agree, she was (and is) a pretty/cute child. AND she is smart. AND she is strong. AND she is kind. You see where I’m going with this? I have tried to emphasize to both my children all along that what a person looks like is not as important as how a person behaves, whether a person is kind to others, and so on. (Likewise, the foods we eat and activities we participate in help us care for our bodies, help us to be healthy and strong. The focus is not on weight or looks.)

A few months ago, I saw this creative eye chart from Operation Beautiful.

I thought it was clever and positive, and I thought maybe my children would enjoy something like that. I printed and put up two copies of the eye chart: one on my daughter’s bedroom mirror, and one in the bathroom they share. I put them up when no one was looking.

A little while later, my daughter came up to me. She was all lit up like a Christmas tree, and she asked me if I put that sign up in her room. I told her that I did, and I asked her if she could tell what it said. She could, and she loved it!

My son, on the other hand, told me that he’s not beautiful; he’s handsome. I guess I have to make a different note for him sometime that uses a different word to convey the same kind of message.

After posting the eye chart, I decided that I’d like to read the Operation Beautiful book. Well, I always have a book in progress, so I put it on my to-read list. I did pick it up and read it about a week ago, and I enjoyed it. I liked hearing the stories of how it impacted people both to leave a note and to find a note.

If you’d like to join a movement of spreading positivity, check out www.operationbeautiful.com.

Have you ever left a note? Found a note?

*Caitlin blogs at http://www.healthytippingpoint.com in addition to editing http://www.operationbeautiful.com.

Check out my book list here and more on the benefits of reading here.

4 thoughts on “Operation Beautiful

  1. I’ve read it and love the message. I think about it more now that I have a baby on the way. I want my baby to know how wonderful he/she is for all his/her qualities- not looks and dress size.

    Haha, I love that you should make your son a sign that says You Are Handsome Just the Way You Are 🙂

    • I don’t know if my son quite gets that the word “beautiful” isn’t only about the way someone/something looks. I’ll have to work on that. 🙂 For him, I might want to say something like, “You’re wonderful just the way you are.” I’ll have to think on that some more.

      Thinking about your child puts things in a new light, doesn’t it? It seems you’ve already had such a postive and healthy approach to life, but I’m sure your baby adds a new dimension to everything. 🙂

  2. I, too, love the message of Operation Beautiful. After learning of the “message” I started posting signs on the bulletin board of my neighborhood Starbucks. I wasn’t sure if anyone was reading them until yesterday when I was adding cream to my coffee and the gentleman next to me actually took a picture of the note that I had left the day before! He commented to me that “someone keeps leaving these really cool notes – I just love them”….TOTALLY made my day!

    I hope that you and your family have a fantastic EARTH day.
    : )

Leave a Reply

