A Little Confession

I am now in my fourth and final week of the cleanse from Tony Horton’s Bring It. Overall, it really hasn’t been bad. I find that although there are a lot of things I can’t eat on this plan, there are still so many things that I CAN eat. Hallelujah!

The first week or so was tough, as my body adjusted to no caffeine. I experienced a major cracker craving when serving crackers to my family along with chili one night. (I’d make some crackers, but I only have wheat flour. I’m not going to go out and buy different flour when I have a big bag of wheat flour waiting to be used.) But, again, for the most part, I have been pleasantly surprised. At this point, I am eating vegan and gluten-free. Still no caffeine, alcohol, processed foods or added sugar. I have checked out a vegan cookbook from the library and researched recipes online. I’m having fun with this vegan-for-a-week.

Here’s where the confession comes in. Even though I have been eating so well these past few weeks, I got pretty down about it last weekend. I haven’t been out to a restaurant since starting the no sugar/no processed foods week. I was starting to feel a little deprived, especially because my husband and I were going to be going out. I felt that I would enjoy having a drink while we were out. A drink other than water, that is. Or appetizers. Something.

I turned it all around, simply by asking my husband if he’d mind if we went out for lunch, my choice. We went to The Good Earth (one of only two natural foods restaurants that I am familiar with, but there must be more). After carefully examining the menu, I chose something that would work within the parameters of my cleanse.

I cook at home most of the time anyway, but just feeling like it wasn’t possible for me to go out was making me feel a little deprived. Going out for a meal at The Good Earth cured that feeling, and when we went out on our date later that night, I didn’t at all mind drinking water.

I don’t think it’s a good idea to put yourself in a position where you feel deprived. In that position, you might stick it out forever and be miserable, but more than likely, at some point the pendulum will swing to the other extreme. I think it’s far better to strike a balance that you can keep up over the long haul. After my experience last weekend, I plan to look into local restaurants to find more options for going out without compromising my preference for healthy foods. I will be a bit less limited in my food choices soon, but I still want to find more restaurants that I can feel really good about patronizing.

Since I’m not quite done yet, I won’t try to sum up my entire experience. I will definitely post about it once I’m done. It has been interesting and positive in many ways. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Little Confession

    • Thanks, Tina. I sure don’t want to live my life from a point of deprivation. I’m glad I could address it right away. There have been a lot of positives in the process of this cleanse, but there are certain things that I wouldn’t want to maintain forever. I’ll be sharing more about it when I’m done.

Leave a Reply

