Busy Bees

That’s what we were this weekend. The kiddos and I had a day off on Friday, and between Thursday afternoon and Friday, I spent many hours helping my children clean and reorganize their bedrooms. What a job! Kids accumulate a lot of stuff in six to eight years. The other big job was taxes, which is where my husband spent his productive time this weekend.

We also had lots of fun things to do. Each of my children attended a birthday party, and they each had a great time. Both attended an Easter for Kids event at our church on Saturday, and both sang in the Palm Sunday service. If you’ve never watched a group of young kids sing, I highly recommend it. It ranks among the cutest things known to mankind, I think. 🙂

My husband and I also had a date night. We went to see the movie Atlas Shrugged. We had both read the book, written by Ayn Rand, a few years ago, and it was a mind-blowing book, I have to say. I’ve always been a worker-bee, an employee working for someone else, and I had never really thought much from the point of view of a business owner. In Atlas Shrugged, we see government rules and regulations gone amok, where individual effort and talent are not rewarded, but exploited. It really challenged me and led me to consider other points of view. It was well worth the read (at about 1300 pages), and I was excited to see the movie. In past experience, I have always liked a book better than a movie based on that book, but I often like to see the movies anyway. This movie exceeded my expectations. I thought it was well done. I still prefer the book, but the movie is quite good. With such a long book, the movie version has been broken into parts. I recommend part one, and I hope that the remainder of the movie(s) eventually get made.

Source

We also saw a play based on The Giver, by Lois Lowry. I had not read this book, but I might read it now. In this story, we see a society where people have no choices. They are assigned to their future career at twelve, when they begin training. They are unceasingly polite, they face no risk or pain, and the whole society has been reduced to “sameness.” They apologize for, and strive to eliminate, anything that makes one stand out from the crowd. I found it interesting, and I left thanking my lucky stars that I have choices and that I am allowed to make my own path.

Source

I am very grateful that the events of my real life were more pleasant than those in our entertainment of the weekend. But you know what? Even though we experience both good and bad, I am so grateful that I get to experience it all. I’d rather live with my own mistakes at times than have no choices.

I hope you had a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

