Great Grains

While I’ve been temporarily avoiding gluten, it has led to a deeper appreciation of some other great grains. I’m already a big fan of quinoa, but in the interest of reducing monotony, I’ve been using more rice and millet in my concoctions cooking.

Here’s a Mexican Millet recipe that I really liked. I found the recipe here. I added some diced chicken to the mix, because I was not going for a vegan meal. This recipe will likely come up again next week, when I will be trying out vegan for a week.

Easy Mexican Millet
Ingredients (use vegan versions):

1 cup millet
2 cups water
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
2 fresh ears corn, kernals removed (or the equivalent in frozen or canned)
4 large tomatoes, diced
salt and pepper, to taste
1 tablespoon cumin
1 1/2 cups cilantro, chopped

Directions:

1. Bring millet and water to a boil. Cover and turn down heat until all water is absorbed. (about 15-20 minutes)

2. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat and add garlic and corn. Sauté for 2 minutes and then add tomatoes. Season lightly with salt and pepper.

3. Add the cumin. Let simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and add the millet. Mix well and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Add in the cilantro and serve.

Makes: 6 servings, Preparation time: 10 minutes, Cooking time: 20 minutes

Another night, I was cooking up some basmati rice in the good old rice cooker, and thought I’d try to make something vaguely Indian to go with it (consistency and all). I put together the following, which was very simple, but I enjoyed it.

Chickpea Curry

Heat two cups chickpeas, two cups diced tomatoes and two teaspoons red curry powder.

Serve with basmati rice and cilantro.

See – very, very simple. I’m a huge fan of chickpeas, and curry for that matter, so this is an obvious winner for me.

I think I confessed in an earlier post that I wouldn’t mind too much if I had to live on rice and beans and fruit, right? 🙂

What’s your favorite grain?

Happy Friday!!

3 thoughts on “Great Grains

    • I hope you’ll share an amaranth recipe. As I mentioned, I’ve only had the leaves of the plant. Maybe I’ll broaden my horizons and seek out the grain!

  1. Pingback: My Week of Vegan Dinners | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

