You Say Tomato

And I say to-mah-to. You say potato, and I say po-tah-to. Okay, not really, but I made some really yummy tomatoes that had me dreaming of summer.

Last summer, a friend made some wonderful grilled tomatoes. They crossed my mind, but I didn’t want to grill out on the deck. I know some people brave the cold to grill, but I’m not one of them. I also did not have the recipe (I will have to remedy that sometime). Instead, I decided to try making something similar in the oven.

As luck would have it, I had some very lovely tomatoes on hand.

I cut them each in half and scooped out the seeds. I added some minced garlic, dried rosemary and thyme, and drizzled them with a little olive oil.

I baked them at 375 for about 30 minutes, then served them with a sort of eclectic meal. They were delicious! They remind me of the warmth and abundance of summer. In case you’re wondering, the chicken was done on the George Foreman.

How do you prefer your tomatoes, raw or cooked? I like them better cooked, but I will gladly eat them raw in a salad. My husband and daughter will eat raw tomatoes the way I eat an apple. 🙂

2 thoughts on “You Say Tomato

    • They were quite good tomatoes. Seems I’ve been able to find some nice ones lately. I hope it’s the case for you soon. I couldn’t find decent peppers on my last shopping trip. Can’t wait for summer!

Leave a Reply

