Well, that was easy.

For the longest time, I have been meaning to figure out how to make fettucine alfredo without any help from Ragu. Sad, but true.

I broke out my old friend, The Joy of Cooking. It is a super reference book for many a cooking question.

It turns out that fettucine alfredo is very easy to make. Who knew? (Though, in my case, it was whole wheat spaghetti alfredo. I do not hesitate to use whatever pasta shape I have on hand.)

Want to know one more reason that cooking foods yourself is a good thing? Well, I guess it is the same main reason I usually cite, but with a different application. Because you know exactly what went in it.

In this case, I have now become very aware that my dinner of “spaghetti alfredo” contained half a stick of butter, half a cup of cream and half a cup of parmesan cheese. (That’s the whole shebang, not an individual serving, by the way.) Light cooking, it was not. Tasty, it was.

I do believe as long as I consume dairy, I will be willing to eat this occasionally, even realizing how heavy the ingredients are. I keep running across more and more info that suggests that humans weren’t necessarily built for digesting dairy. Big sigh… I love dairy.

I hope that serving it on a bed of spinach and a side of asparagus counts for something. They are light, are they not?

And, lest you think I forgot to include a variety of color in my produce, I present you with dessert:

Greek yogurt with berries is a dessert favorite around here. And further evidence of my fondness for dairy.

Have you ever been surprised to find how simple a recipe really is? Have you ever sworn off a food once you realized what went in it?

(I have decided NOT to make something upon seeing what it contained, if that counts.)

One thought on “Well, that was easy.

  1. Pingback: Uncommonly Good | Be not simply good…

Leave a Reply

