Beautiful Boy

I’m feeling quite sentimental. My “baby” is six years old today. How my little boy is growing up so quickly, I do not know. He has such a sparkle. His smiling face is one of the most beautiful things I know of.

This parenting thing is quite a challenge. It is bittersweet. My job is to care for them and guide them but to give them more and more independence as they grow into adults. It’s a long process of letting go. I am happy as they reach new milestones, but it also reminds me that my little ones won’t always be little. Sigh.

Lord, help me to appreciate these days when my sweet ones are here with me, even when the days may be difficult. Help me to give them the love and support they need and room to grow. Thank you for placing these little ones in my life. What blessings they are.

Today I celebrate this new milestone with my son. It being Monday, of course we have our regular school routine, but we’ll make sure to spend some time making the birthday boy’s day special too. This song often comes to mind when I am with my little guy or just thinking of him. He’s my beautiful boy.

Before you go to sleep
Say a little prayer
Every day in every way
It’s getting better and better

Beautiful beautiful beautiful
Beautiful boy
Beautiful beautiful beautiful
Beautiful boy

Out on the ocean sailing away
I can hardly wait to see you come of age
But I guess, we’ll both just have to be patient
‘Cause it’s a long way to go, a hard row to hoe
Yes, it’s a long way to go, but in the meantime

Before you cross the street
Take my hand
Life is what happens to you
While you’re busy making other plans

Beautiful beautiful beautiful
Beautiful boy
Beautiful beautiful beautiful
Beautiful boy

Before you go to sleep
Say a little prayer
Every day in every way
It’s getting better and better

Beautiful beautiful beautiful
Beautiful boy
Beautiful beautiful beautiful
Beautiful boy

~John Lennon

Our lives are made up of fleeting moments. They go by so quickly. I hope you take time to cherish the people and the moments that mean the most to you. I will be trying to do so, too.

Leave a Reply

