Geography comes to the table (again)

There have been times when we’ve looked up a country or region on the globe because of something we were eating – Caribbean Pineapple Chicken, for example.

This dinner was just the opposite. My son was learning about China in his geography class at the homeschool co-op. His teacher gave him a set of chopsticks and a placemat from a Chinese restaurant.

We’re no stranger to the Chinese restaurants in our area, though we don’t go often. I once told you how excited I was to make a version of Orange Chicken at home, because my kids really like it, and we try to cook and eat at home most of the time (for financial reasons, as well as the control it affords us over what we eat – no mystery ingredients).

Upon receiving the chopsticks, my son asked me if I would make fried rice. He wanted to try eating fried rice with chopsticks. I decided to oblige, and found this recipe to start from. I made some changes, which I have noted below.

Fried Rice

Ingredients
1 1/3 cups uncooked white rice
1 2/3 cups water
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
3 teaspoons vegetable oil, divided
1/4 pound bacon, cut into strips
1/8 cup soy sauce
1 (10 ounce) package frozen green peas, thawed
2 green onions, chopped

Directions
In a saucepan bring water to a boil. Add rice and stir. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, season eggs with salt and pepper.
Heat 1 teaspoon oil in small frying pan, pour in eggs. Coat the bottom of the pan with the eggs, in order to cook them evenly; cook for about 3 minutes. Flip the eggs, cook one minute more and remove them to a cool surface. Let them cool, then cut them into thin slices. Set aside.
Place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Drain, crumble and set aside.
Spoon remaining 2 teaspoons oil into the skillet with the bacon fat. Stir in rice; break up any clumps and toss to coat with oil. Stir in bacon, soy sauce, peas, eggs and green onions. Stir and cook until heated through, approximately 3 minutes.

(My changes – I don’t have white rice, so I used brown. I omitted the bacon. I used non-stick cooking spray for cooking the egg and olive oil when I combined the rice, eggs and veggies.)

I was already intending to make a stir-fry with pork and frozen veggies, so I made the fried rice to go with stir-fry. (I diced up half a leftover pork chop and tossed it in with the veggies.)

What’s really funny is that my son watched me make the fried rice, and he seemed really puzzled. I don’t think fried rice was actually what he wanted, even though it was what he said. He was surprised to see me adding the eggs and veggies to the rice.

I think he actually just wanted brown rice. Also sort of funny is that he absolutely did not want to try the chopsticks, even though he asked me to make “fried rice” for him to eat with his chopsticks.

That’s okay. I got to try something new in the kitchen, and we all (including my son) liked the rice.

Have you ever had a cooking miscommunication or mix-up, or is it just me? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Geography comes to the table (again)

    • 🙂 Ha ha!

      I’m so glad my husband is a good sport about trying all my kitchen concoctions. He once told me he doesn’t mind if we have the occasional flop, because he is glad I like to try making new things. Swoon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

