Another Works Wednesday!


source

I’ve told you before about a “Wonderful Wednesday at the Works.” This time “W” can also stand for Willis Tower. Did you know that the former Sears Tower is now called the Willis Tower? I didn’t realize that until my children built models of that famous building at The Works Museum last Wednesday.

I once went to the top of the then-Sears Tower to look out over all of Chicago… Too bad it was a cloudy day, and we couldn’t see a thing. Oh, well, I still like Chicago. In fact, I plan to run there in June. 🙂

Just for fun, I thought I’d share my kids’ tower building experiences. They had a great time measuring and cutting the pieces, then gluing it together to look like the Willis Tower. My son wanted me to do it for him. I told him that I’d be nearby and he should give it a try. Let me tell you, he didn’t know what he would be missing if he passed the job off to me. He LOVED doing this! So did my daughter. They were especially thrilled to use the saws.

My daughter read a book to us recently about the Plains Indians, and the author described how during his childhood, parents didn’t worry about a child using a sharp saw. Rather, they asked if the saw was sharp and sent the child out to cut firewood. People in different times and in different places sure do have different expectations for children. I don’t think it’s a bad thing to give kids responsibility. I digress, but I couldn’t help but think of that book as I watched my children sawing wood and loving every minute of it.

These engineering lessons may not stick quite yet, but I do believe they are planting seeds in my children’s minds. They learned about architects and civil engineers, reasons the building was designed with differing column heights, and scale for a model. They got to practice measuring, sawing and putting the pieces into the proper configuration. We looked up a picture online of the Willis Tower after leaving the museum, and their eyes lit up. I think they felt like big shots, having done this themselves and seeing how their small buildings resemble the actual skyscraper. What fun!

2 thoughts on “Another Works Wednesday!

    • Thank you, Brittany! I take that as a huge compliment.

      I think my kids have more opportunities for “field trips” like this than someone in a traditional school would, and I definitely enjoy experiencing so many things together! We’ve certainly seen some advantages of homeschooling. I do think traditional schools and homeschooling can both provide for learning success. There are pros and cons to either option.

      When you have kids, I’m sure you will research all your options and make a decision that will work well for your family! It sounds like you’re way ahead of the game. Thank you again for your very nice comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

