Monday’s Motivation

“Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.” -William Faulkner

Oh, I like this one. What better goal can we have than to be the best version we can be of ourselves?

In fact, around the new year, I was reading a post at Faith, Fitness, Fun that asked, “If you had to pick a word to describe your 2011, what would you choose?”

I commented:

Great post! I absolutely believe that attitude has a huge impact!

I would choose “be”. It’s easy to think about the kind of person I wish to be, as if it’s outside my control. I need to recognize that with every choice I make, I can choose to “be” that person that I aspire to, or at least take steps in the right direction.

Happy New Year!

There’s always some version of myself that I imagine, and as simple as it sounds, I want to always work on being that person. If I want to be a runner, I go out and run. If I want to be a good cook, I will seek out recipes and practice cooking. If I want to be a playful mom, I will make time to play with my children. If I want to be a patient person, I will do my best to be patient and humbly begin again when I fail. (Can you tell this is one that I find more difficult. Especially when my children fight…)

And so on…

Such a small word with the potential for big results.

Happy Monday, and here’s to being the best you that you can be! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Monday’s Motivation

  1. I love your choice of word! I think I would have to chose “self” because I’m literally just living my life to the fullest, trying to be the best possible me I can be. So self seems correct:)

    • Thank you for sharing! These words will be as varied as the people choosing them. I liked the idea of one word serving as a focal point for one’s overall goals.

Leave a Reply

